We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Waterfront House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfront House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A warm friendly atmosphere when arriving and staff were very helpful and made us feel welcome.

The room we had superb views and the rooms were warm and clean and cosy.

I would definetely recommend eating in the restaurant. The food isabsolutely wonderful. I recommend the chowder, have never had chowder that tastes so fresh.

I went end of November and would definetley be returning.

Martina and her staff were absoultely delightful and they certainly have set standards for other guest houses.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011sunshine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    44
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
59
154
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Looking to spend a weekend away on the west coast, I followed the recommendations of others who had stayed at the Waterfront. What a gold mine! The town was quite quiet and the guest house was practically empty. No problem at all for Martina. She spent time with us to explain all about the local attractions and facilities. We had a lovely room with a view of the bay and I would definitely suggest asking for this. You should try our the seaweed baths although at €45 / couple they are a bit of a luxury.

There is a restaurant and wine bar within the guest house although we had already decided to avail of the food in Pilot Bar in town. (Excellent in itself - try the chowder!!).

We will be back again to experience the wonderful Sligo / Mayo hospitality and try to improve our poor surfing skills!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffterpher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Found this place by accident while staying in Enniscrone. Majella from the local jewellery shop recommended it for a meal and it was a wonderful dining experience. Everything was top notch and fantastic value for money.
I can honestly say I have never had a fillet steak anywhere as good as I ate at the Waterfront. Delicious!!!
Would highly recommend this to anyone and next time we dine there we will also be checking in for the night as it is a chic boutique guesthouse also!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evangemorrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The Waterfront House was a wonderful surprise, considering we had just booked in for one night to attend a wedding at a nearby larger hotel, and weren't expecting much from our stopover visit.

The welcome we received from Martina was second to none, our room was large and comfortable, and the view of Enniscrone beach was breathtaking. Dinner in the adjoining restaurant and wine bar was gorgeous - attentive service, an unpretentious and excellently executed menu - and a fantastically priced wine list which tempted me several times!

This family run guesthouse is friendly and warm, simple and sweet. It hands down beats most big name hotels I have visited in the last year. I would happily recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet escape in a pretty little corner of the NorthWest.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy_89_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

as soon as we arrived on thurdsday 6th of october we were made very very welcome by martina at the waterfront house hotel - we were offered tea and coffee and then shown to our room which had been previously prepared for us - the weather was somewhat wild so we were so happy to have a nice warm comfortable room which was nice and warm - we settled down for a while - before have a nice warm shower - getting ourselves changed, and down to the restaurant for dinner - which was absolutley delicious - we thoroughly enjoyed our meal which was beautifully cooked and very well presented - we then sat over by the very welcoming open fire and enjoyed a few drinks where we had a really nice convesation with martina who chatted away to us as though she had known us forever (a superb host) - we stayed for three nights as we were over for my cousins' daughter's wedding - which was being held in the daimond coast hotel on the saturday of the 8th of october- we had a geat day/night at the wedding - we had a final full breakfast which was also delicious - but sadly we had to make our way home onthe sunday morning - we had a truly memorable stay at the waterfron house hotel and would recomend it to anyone who would like to experience the totally magnificant views of the atlantic which we had a birds ey view from our bedroom
iam writing this reviewq on behalf fo myself - florence cameron my husband james cameron and my sister mrs elizabeth anderson - my husband and i will definatley be back. thank you martina and all your staff for making us so welcome X

Room Tip: one facing the atlantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florence c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscrone
1.3 km away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
796 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Enniscrone
588 reviews
15.1 km away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,286 reviews
32.9 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
35.8 km away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront House

Property: Waterfront House
Address: Waterfront House Cliff Road | Enniscrone, Enniscrone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront House offers luxury boutique accommodation, sea view restaurant & wine bar situated on the waters edge overlooking Enniscrone Beach and Killala Bay. On the Wild Atlantic Way, Enjoy spectacular uninterrupted views of the bay, Atlantic Ocean and Enniscrone's famous sunsets. Best views in town. Relax and unwind in our new restaurant and wine bar. Waterfront offer its guest relaxing setting for an enjoyable break at the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterfront House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing