We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely to be back!”
Review of Stakes Restaurant

Stakes Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Bundoran
Price range: US$16 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Stakes Restaurant is conveniently located at lower Main Street Bundoran and close to the centre of Bundoran and minutes walk from the beach and other attractions. We are open daily and we take bookings, Walk-ins welcome, Good for groups or parties, Good for children, Takeaway, Catering and Table service.
Reviewed 22 May 2017

I had come in Bundoran 2 or 3 years ago with a friend for a hiking weekend and we had had diner at the Stakes and found it lovely. I was back now in May 2017 and went again there with my boyfriend and it was as lovely as the first time! The salmon was fantastic! Staff is lovely, and they did not blame us for playing chess at the restaurant haha (sorry about that!). I would go back again at my next visit in Bundoran! Cannot wait :-)

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmeraldIsle1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stakes r, Manager at Stakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thanks for your comments! Glad you enjoyed and got to play your chess game :-) Can't wait to see you again! The Stakes team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

A bit expensive for what it is but the food was ok and the service was excellent. Would recommend. Nice to have a vegetarian option on the menu - rate outside Dublin

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank lighthouse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stakes r, Manager at Stakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thanks for the recommendation. We think that a vegetarian option should be standard!! Glad you enjoyed. See you soon. The Stakes team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

The food was good. Service was good. Toilets a little disappointing. Very good portions and the wine was lovely!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kmactyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stakes r, Manager at Stakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thanks for your comments and feedback. It's always great to get both positive and negative. Glad you enjoyed everything else! The Stakes team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We had dinner for 3 in this restaurant and found the food to be excellent. Generous portion sizes and good value.

The desserts were a little underwhelming but everything else was superb. The lady who served us was very friendly and offered suggestions for somewhere to find breakfast in the morning.

We will be back!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrPhilG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stakes r, Manager at Stakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thanks for your positive review! Glad you enjoyed the food. We've taken your comments about dessert on board. Hope to see you again! The Stakes team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Had dinner recently Service very slow due to lack of waiting staff
The food when it arrived was Ok but watching the service as we waited was alarming I think it was relief when it arrived that clouded my judgement Basic.
Veg microwaived also mash all the signs of understaffing in the kitchen. Had to wait for these to arrive after the main course (grilled salmon)which was nice.Did not order coffee or desert as we could not waste another hour or so.we observed people leaving before they even ordered food.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank celwexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stakes r, Manager at Stakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thanks for your comments and we're sorry that your experience didn't live up to the usual high standards that are expected here at the restaurant. Your feedback has been taken on board and we will use it to improve. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you back at some point. The Stakes team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stakes Restaurant also viewed

 
Bundoran, County Donegal
 

Been to Stakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.