We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great forrest walks”

Belleek Castle Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$76
Cuisines: Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Belleek Castle is set in the heart of Belleek Woods. It is a cosy romantic hotel with plenty of character and award-winning restaurant. Afternoon tea is available daily from 12pm until 5pm. Tours also take place each day of the dungeons where you will get to see and hold Irelands largest private collection of armour and we also boast a collection of fossils - plus a few extra surprises!The Armada bar has been constructed from a spanish armada ship which makes it boast plenty of character and is admired by all who visit the castle. Our restaurant is cosy and romantic with an old world feel. We are proud to serve gourmet dishes without the gourmet price! Our head chef Stephen uses only the freshest local ingredients available to create masterpieces in the kichen.The castle is also an ideal wedding venue with several weddings held here every year since 1971. We strive to ensure that everyone has the most perfect day possible and where better to celebrate such an occasion than in a romantic castle.Belleek Castle is a home away from home and is well worth a visit - we hope to be welcoming you here soon!
Reviewed 11 April 2012

lovely building and great forrest walks which are well sign posted

Thank Carlo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleekCastle, Public Relations Manager at Belleek Castle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Thank you very much for your compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 301 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

One and a half goats cheese tartlets for my starter! Flaccid pastry. Poor. Very very poor at I think around 12 euro! Flaming steak. Didn't stay lit and small portions for 65 euro for 2 and no veg bar a small tepid tian. Dessert ridiculous at 12 euro for 3 tiny very average tasters. Staff really charming. Atmosphere great. Music awful. Never again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MayoMatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleekCastle, Public Relations Manager at Belleek Castle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Madam,
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your evening with us at the Castle. We strive to make sure our dining experience is enjoyed by all no matter what menu they are eating from. Please accept our apology and we hope that if you ever do decide to dine with us again you will have a much more pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This place look intimidating during the day but go ahead and ring the bell. Even when they are open they may not look like it. If you are taking a walking tour of the woods, this is a wonderful place to stop for tea.

Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleekCastle, Public Relations Manager at Belleek Castle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Thank you very much for you lovely comments regarding Belleek Castle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Castle hotel was closed when we were there in January- due to open in February. The grounds however are beautiful with some lovely walks. The castle looks authentic and we look forward to visiting it again when the season starts

Thank TaraNewtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleekCastle, Public Relations Manager at Belleek Castle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Thank you for the lovely compliments - we hope you have since been to the castle and that it has looked as good inside as it does outside!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

A fun night out with family at the Castle. As a first time visitor I was hugely impressed with the wonderful surroundings and enjoyed the evening greatly. Good attentive service throughout, good food with the seafood nage my personal highlight and the evening rounded off with a tour of the beneath stairs areas. An experience to look forward to for any visitor to the area.

Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleekCastle, Public Relations Manager at Belleek Castle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening in the castle and restaurant. We are very proud of our chef and love to hear feedback from customers! We hope you also enjoyed the tour of the castle as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belleek Castle Restaurant also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Been to Belleek Castle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing