We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ballina Manor Hotel(Ballina)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$292
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$251
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
174
115
51
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
115
51
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp bedlovely hotelkids clubstayed here for nightsfamily roombuffet breakfastfunction roomswimming poolquiet locationfrom start to finishleisure centregreat facilitiesfour starfood was lovelyfamily breakbar restaurantwedding venue
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Stayed here on the bank holiday Sunday weekend in August. Bar food is lovely and carvery is very fresh. Staff behind the bar are very pleasant and chatty and the barman even remembered my Dad from a previous stay. Reception staff are lovely too especially Eva (I think that was her name). Swimming pool is all the one depth with a seperate kidies pool and jacuzzi area. Towels are provided so no need to bring your own. The girl working on reception there was really nice, don't remember her name(approx 3pm on Sunday 6th August). We had the pool and changing rooms to ourselves. Hotel is approx 5 minutes into Ballina town by car. They offer a kids club too and the kids get a welcome pack with a tshirt and some other bits when they check in. Breakfast is lovely, big selection of hot and cold food and cereals.

Room Tip: leisure centre is on first floor so rooms close to it are convenient
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JacquiDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed the bank holiday with us recently and that you found the bar food and carvery to your liking.

I would like to thank you for highlighting the friendly team here at the Great National and we would also like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great National Hotel Ballina in the very near future.

Kind regards

Andrew Keane.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night recently with my husband. Check in was quick. The room was really spacious, clean and bed was really comfy. Decor wise it was ok but no wow factor. We ate the hotel bar as the restaurant part was booked out. We had a really friendly waitress who apologised that there would be a wait as they had both a wedding and a big tour staying. The wait wasn't as long as we expected. The menu was ok but basic enough. My husband had chowder and said it was the best he ever had. He said though his burger was very dry. I had the beef spring rolls and fish and chips and both were nice. The waitress was really attentive. There was music on that night which was good. Breakfast though the following morning was a big disappointment. The hot food at most was lukewarm and went cold very quickly. I didn't really eat much which is a pity as I love hotel breakfasts. Even my coffee was cold. They did have a cool pancake machine though which was nice to have and saved my breakfast. The spa was booked up so didn't get to try it. Overall the hotel was nice and apart from breakfast there was no complaints but it's an average hotel with no wow factor.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ghostchild2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guest,

I am disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay and your concerns raised in relation to the breakfast and the beef burger will be addressed.

I would like to thank you for highlighting that you found the music in the bar to be good, the staff to be very friendly, the room to be spacious and very comfortable, the fish and chips and spring roll to be good and the seafood chowder to be the best your husband has ever had.

I am sorry that you did not find the Hotel to have a Wow factor in terms of decor and this is something that we will take in account when looking at future refurbishment.

We do hope that you revisit us in the near future.

Kind regards

Andrew Keane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We stayed for three nights in early Augest. Lovely hotel. Book in was very swift. Food was first class, very tasty, especially the mc Shane's burger. Drink wasn't overly priced for a hotel. Room was clean and very comfortable although the carpet was badly stained (212). The leisure centre was also very clean, pity the sauna was out of order but got to use it on one occasion. The breakfast buffet was very good, plenty of choice and very fresh. Overall enjoyed the stay, all staff very hard working and very helpful, especially in the bar and bistro.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank oakse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that your had a great three night stay with us and that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope that you will not wait too long to enjoy the "McShanes Burger" again and we look forward to welcoming you.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,

Andrew Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Good for families - plenty space in the bright and airy family room which accommodates 5 ( which is becoming harder and harder to find - don't like kids in separate room) . Ate most evenings in the bar which was reasonably priced and decent quality . The hotel in general could do with a bit of an upgrade but I honestly couldn't find fault with anything - comfortable - about a mile or 2 outside town , plenty parking , no problem getting a taxi . The staff were great - one nicer than the next - made us feel very welcome . Also , Great value for money.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Waterford55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you and your family had a great stay and that you have highlighted the team for special praise.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to the great national in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Keane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

The kids checkin was excellent I have never seen that before and my daughter was delighted. They also did a treasure hunt for the kids at checkin which was great because it made the kids familiar with the hotel and they got to see the pool. The staff were all excellent and could not have been more helpful. The food was very good and the family room had a lot of space so we didn't feel clostraphobic.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank puckanedebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and we are delighted to read that your daughter enjoyed her own check-in experience and the treasure hunt.

All the team are delighted to hear that you gave them praise and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Great National Hotel Ballina in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Keane
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews