We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Luxurious'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Falcon Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“'Luxurious'”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night break in Mount Falcon. We have 3 children aged 8,12 and 14. We loved the hotel. The staff couldnt have been more helpful especially Paula on reception. Our room was perfect, the beds are amazing, extremely comfortable (the only complaint was the heat of the rooms) but we opened windows to combat that. There are great walks outside the hotel with a really interesting graveyard nearby which contains the Knox Gore family who originally built the house. There is an abundance of history attached to this lovely old house. We found the archery particularly good (Ronan) gave us some great tuition and the children said this was their favourite! Our mobile phones did not work inside the house (vodafone) and while i found it a nuisance my husband had the best break ever!!!

We ate in the bar the first evening and the food was very good. Our main meal (on the second night) in the restaurant was really very mediocre. If one is going to charge €55 per head you would expect a very high standard. The food we had was not. My main course was salmon served with a drizzle of pesto and a couple of prawns. The salmon was luke warm and very overcooked and dry. When I asked for some sauce I was given more cold pesto sauce. My husbands dish was the venison which was quite good. The main chef Philippe Farineau was not on that particular evening. We both felt that charging €55 a head in this current climate is totally unacceptable. Considering most Dublin restaurants are charging €20 or €25 for a 3 course meal, we felt completely overcharged. Having said this, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel but feel the restaurant needs to reconsider seriously the menu prices. The hotel has an abundance of activities to offer and a wonderful staff eager to serve your every need. I would definitely recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derryvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    161
    55
    32
    14
See reviews for
273
456
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying here for my cousin's wedding. Along with numerous members of my family we opted to stay in the Lakeside lodges. We stated in number 9 and thought it was lovely. The underfloor heating kept the lodge lovely and toasty.

Each bedroom was ensuite and there was a spacious lounge, dining area and kitchen... Perfect for a few nights stay when we had no intention of leaving the estate!

Aside from the wedding meal (which was excellent) we enjoyed meals from the bar. These were priced very reasonably and absolutely delicious.

The main reason I wanted to write a review was to compliment the fantastic staff. From organising umbrellas to changing meal reservations with minimal fuss, they were fantastic. The hot water stopped suddenly in one shower and within 3 minutes of ringing reception a porter arrived and the problem was sorted.

Our stay coincided with New Years Eve and it was a fabulous place to see in 2012.

Many people nowadays are very quick to bemoan about the decline in customer service and I can honestly say this is NOT the case at the Mount Falcon!

My husband and I are already hoping to make plans to return with a group of friends.

Couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HumphreyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicklow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Wonderful expereince - most accomodating staff. Wedding venue was fabulous. Food was sumptuous. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishlasswicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Myself and my husband stayed after our wedding in Mount Falcon. The staff were very accomodating to our needs, especially since we had a very early start the following morning so they brought us breakfast up to our room on a tray even though the kitchens were not yet opened. The room was spacious and comfortable and the whole hotel has been decorated and restored in a beautiful way.

I would love to return and spend more time enjoying the facilties and grounds

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judah and Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Lovely walks
Peaceful great facilities
Would go back

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
8.5 km away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
7.9 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
3.4 km away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
6.9 km away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
38.5 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Property: Mount Falcon Estate
Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, Luxury lodges, fishing for wild Atlantic Salmon on its own stretch of the river Moy, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, a School of Falconry, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The Estate was originally owned by The Knox family whose ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to a Megalithic tomb located on the Estate. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest ever hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. In 2015 the Hotel was named the best Manor House Hotel in Ireland. The Hotels 'Kitchen Restaurant' holds 2 AA Rosettes and has received numerous awards for Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught, the most recent award received was in 2015 for Best Chef in Connaught(by the Good Eating Guide). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing