We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas vibes”

Jack Fenn Courtyard Cafe
Ranked #21 of 55 Restaurants in Ballina
Description: Jack Fenn's Courtyard Cafe is Ballina's new foodie destination situated in the courtyard at Belleek Castle. The cafe itself is housed in the former 1820's stables & coach house at Belleek Castle. The exterior brickwork & character has been restored and the interior design of the building has been given a modern design inspired by the life of Jack Fenn, a sailor & adventurer! Jack Fenn's Courtyard Cafe won the award for "Cafe of the year 2019” in Georgina Campbell’s Ireland Guide" & "Best Newcomer in Connaught 2018" at the Irish Restaurant Awards. Open daily for breakfast & all day brunch from Wednesday until Sunday, 10am - 5pm. Closed Monday & Tuesday.
Restaurant details
Description: Jack Fenn's Courtyard Cafe is Ballina's new foodie destination situated in the courtyard at Belleek Castle. The cafe itself is housed in the former 1820's stables & coach house at Belleek Castle. The exterior brickwork & character has been restored and the interior design of the building has been given a modern design inspired by the life of Jack Fenn, a sailor & adventurer! Jack Fenn's Courtyard Cafe won the award for "Cafe of the year 2019” in Georgina Campbell’s Ireland Guide" & "Best Newcomer in Connaught 2018" at the Irish Restaurant Awards. Open daily for breakfast & all day brunch from Wednesday until Sunday, 10am - 5pm. Closed Monday & Tuesday.
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend
My experience started with a friendly welcome to the cafe followed by a very festive mulled wine. The atmosphere was cosy, relaxed with an impressive music range.
I had a big bowl of heartwarming soup with a very generous portion. The blueberry cheesecake was delicious and definitely worth the indulgence. Overall the staff were very friendly, pleasant and this is one of the nicest places to eat in Ballina.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank RuthM1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Jack Fenn Courtyard Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi RuthM1921,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at our cafe and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Meabh Mc Andrew

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

Down in Ballina from Dublin for the weekend with the family. Jack Fenns was recommended to to us by the receptionist in our hotel and it didn't disappoint.

The cafe is very warn and cosy. The staff where attentive and very welcoming. Food was top notch with good portions and a great selection of herbal teas.

Can't recommend this cafe enough. It's also in a great spot, we had a lovely walk around Belleek forest beforehand to build up a nice appetite!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank peterandreucetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Jack Fenn Courtyard Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Peter,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at our cafe and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Meabh Mc Andrew

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing reception as we sat for some afternoon tea, when approached by the waitress for our order, we were advised that the barista was overwhelmed and would be unable to take our drinks order for a minimum of 25 minutes. When we queried was the delay due to not ordering food the waitress shrugged and left, only to return and suggest we might wish to have teas and coffee in the hotel next door.

Apparently management changed since our last visit and it is quite obvious that the customer relations have suffered as a result. We had decided not to eat food as the menu was not appealing to any of the party; while previously we had enjoyed some really nice dishes

Will be staying clear and visiting Dillion’s and Crockets instead.

Quite disappointing

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 922damianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Jack Fenn Courtyard Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent experience. I am very sorry that your time was not enjoyable.The weekend you have mentioned was extremely busy and out of the norm for us. We underestimated how popular our cafe would be on this weekend and were not staffed accordingly. We have learned from this experience and have taken measures to ensure we are better equipped at very busy periods to cope with the demand of large numbers and ensure our guests leave with a positive dining experience.

Kind regards,

Meabh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2018

Not as expected but the waitress did approach my dining companion and asked to replace her meal without being asked to as it was a very burnt looking offering.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcella170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Jack Fenn Courtyard Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.I do apologise as the meal should not have left the kitchen burnt. Our waitress did notice this and acted promptly to ensure your friend did enjoy her meal with us.

Kind Regards,

Meabh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

On our first visit we loved the place during the summer, the food was very good and the young lady that served us was very good.

Second visit was poor, food was not hot and portion was a lot smaller with no taste, lady taking payment wasn’t friendly at all and a little snobbish to put it mildly.

Third visit was just for coffee and a cake, food was good but again the lady taking payment just wasn’t to the standard you would expect at this type of establishment.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank QualityServiceNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Jack Fenn Courtyard Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent experience at Jack Fenn. I am very sorry that your visits have not been up to the standard you have come to expect at Jack Fenn. I would be delighted to speak to you in person and resolve any shortcomings by my team, I can assure you that your feedback will be used constructively with our team, we appreciate all comments to help us strive to maintain our standards that have won us multiple awards over the last year since opening.

Please contact me on 096 22400 or email jackfenn@belleekcastle.eu.

Warm regards,

Meabh Mc Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack Fenn Courtyard Cafe also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Been to Jack Fenn Courtyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing