We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for food”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bettystown, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A great place for food”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was driving by this hotel and looked at the lunch board outside the door, menu looked good.
We went back in the afternoon and had lunch. Menu excellent, fish chicken, steaks and caters for coeliac people as well. food was very good and prices just right. €72 for 5 adults incl 2 alcoholic drinks. We will come back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liambettystown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    52
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
122
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulster
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Fabulous boutique style hotel located in Bellmullet. Five star accommodation. Decor is absolutely beautiful. Staff are warm, friendly and welcoming throughout the hotel. We were accompanied to our room and given all the information we needed to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Room and bathroom were well laid out and included extra touches such as nespresso machine, iPod dock and robes and slippers. Had food in the bar on both nights and was to a high standard. We used the hotel as a base to tour Achill island and would recommend the drive all the way out to Keem Strand on a sunny day. Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMFUlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Everything about the Talbot was superb.. the welcome on arrival, standard of rooms, great rates... nothing could be faulted. The Bar food was great value and excellent menu. Located in the heart of the action but yet a tranquil haven. Live music in the bar and also the nightclub next door was very lively but hotel was peaceful and rooms very comfortable. Room decor is the last word .. all modern unique designs. I will definately be going back and would not hestitate in recommending for a lovely weekend break. Great food, excellent service, great location & fantastic hotel..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I booked a one-night, Bed & Breakfast with this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. Service at Reception couldn't have been more attentive or helpful. I was shown to my room personally by Fiona which was a lovely touch and found my pink room on the first floor absolutely delightful! I'm so impressed with the Ipod dock, nespresso machine, flatscreen wall-mounted tv and the amazing King Size bed! The furnishings were really lovely, exactly as I had anticipated from website photos, and really clean & fresh. Flooring was nice too! Bathroom was well set out, with robe, slippers, beautiful towels, a lovely range of toiletries and powerful shower! My meal in the restaurant was lovely, massive portions and great service. Overall, a fantastic hotel, great food and super customer service - I certainly wouldn't even dream of looking elsewhere for my next trip to Belmullet. Congratulations to the owners & staff on a terrific experience in an absolutely fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this beautiful botique hotel. The double bedroom was one of the nicest and cleanest I have stayed in. the attention to detail and the individual style throughout this hotel will really appeal to anyone who hates, as i do the generic chain hotel. The added extra of the nespresso machine has left me wanting to purchase one for home. On a more disappointing note I have to confess that the food in the lounge bar was not to our taste as a keen cook myself I enjoy modern cuisine with some responsibility towards healthy eating. We had crab cakes at a €3 supplement these can only be described as 3 tasteless crab and potatoe cakes as I couldn't find any other flavour in them I ate 1, gave the other to my husband to try and left the 3rd, much to large a potion !. Both my husband and I had fish, myself the cod and he the plaice. The fresh fish was beautiful but mine had a spoonful of disgusting grey coloured garlicy ? "stuff " on top thank god I realised before eating it and scraped it off, the fish was accompanied by very buttery creamed potatoes, Brussel sprouts and carrots, individually all nice but didn't work with the fish. Desert was also a let down,soggy pastry or sponge base on lemon merigne pie? on the plus side breakfast was good although if you like herbal teas bring your own as the hotel selection is poor. I have not enjoyed writing this reveiw as it does not reflect my overall experience at the talbot hotel and it would not put me of returning just be careful what you order from the menu or try the Chinese restaurant across the street as it was delicious.

Room Tip: We had a double room and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misha73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.7 km away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
494 reviews
0.2 km away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
63 reviews
37.7 km away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
63.4 km away
Bru Chlann Lir
Bru Chlann Lir
#3 of 9 in Belmullet
38 reviews
0.1 km away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: Barrack St, Belmullet, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel Belmullet is Irelands Newest boutique hotel and the first four star hotel in Erris.The Talbot Belmullet County Mayo is a family run hotel offering luxury boutique accommodation in the centre of Belmullet town. Each of the chic, quirky 21 guestrooms has its own special charm...including an iPod dock, complimentary Wi-Fi. Butler tray, and oh joy, an espresso machine as well as a mini bar stocked with tempting treats, oversized fluffy bath robes and towels, slippers and spa toiletries.At The Talbot, all suites have double deluge rain showers, and their own fireplaces, just enough to leave you feeling tickled pink! You can plan your trip around Belmullet taking in all sorts of places of interest and activities - from heritage and culture to food and drink, to folklore and music! Belmullet is the capital of the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) region of Erris, an area that offers unspoilt beauty and glorious beaches and is the ideal place for that get away from it all holiday. Car hire is available at Ireland West Knock International Airport . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing