We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great Hospitality, Smallish Rooms”
Review of Torann Na Dtonn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torann Na Dtonn
Ranked #55 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2010

As other reviewers have noted, the Torann Na Dtonn has great views over Ventry Bay. Its location on a hill also captures nice breezes. The rooms facing the Bay are ideal. The back bedrooms are on the small side and lack the views and airiness of the other rooms. The bathrooms are small and cramped-ok for small/average size people but anyone on the larger side will have some difficulties. Some of the lights in our room didn't work but that wasn't a huge issue for us. Jacqueline is a very good hostess-provided us with a nice cup of tea upon arrival and a good breakfast in the morning. The Internet connection works fine downstairs but no signal upstairs in the bedrooms. This B&B is situated well outside of the hustle and bustle of Dingle, which provides a relaxing atmosphere and a good nights sleep. Don't expect anything overly fancy here, but if all you need is a comfortable location, good breakfast, welcoming hospitality, and a good nights sleep this will be fine for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank productcomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2010

Stay here for the views! Establishment is rather worn and needs updating.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We stayed one night and were given this very cosy room with view on the sea. Even at night the scenery was amazing with the moonlight and the palm trees. It was funny to arrive and be greeted by this very friendly donkey. Jacqueline is relaxed and always smiling and will be very happy to advise you on the activities around.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kickassgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We were delighted with this simple B&B. It has gorgeous views out over the Dingle Bay with palm trees in the front garden! The beds were very comfortable, the room cosy, but with plenty of closet space. The bathroom, however, was tiny with a tiny, but ok shower. My daughter was able to take a bath in the shared bathroom off the upstairs hall. We had a classic Irish breakfast (eggs, salmon, tomato or eggs, ham "bacon", black pudding) in a room with arched windows framing the splendid view. The owner, Jacqueline O'Shea, was friendly and helpful. I wish we had stayed longer, since I loved the Dingle Peninsula and found Ventry just removed enough from the tourist bustle of Dingle village itself. I would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYViaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

We arrived at this B&B a little late, but had called ahead to let the hostess know and it was no problem. We were given a cheery greeting and showed to our room. While the B&B has wonderful views of Ventry Bay, our room was in the back and the double-pane window was fogged up inside, so we couldn't enjoy the view from the room. The room was on the small side, but not tiny. The bathroom was fairly small, had loose tiles in the floor and a rusty handle in the shower stall. The decorations were nothing to write home about. Beds were acceptably comfortable.

After settling in a bit, we went back out front and enjoyed the view from a bench in front of the dinning room's bay windows. As I said, the view is the main selling point here. It's relaxing and quite lovely. As a sign of the overall up-keep problem with the B&B, however, the small fence at the edge of the front was falling down and bits were missing. Another plus for me was a wonderful dog named Lucky. Lucky greeted us with a bow every time we saw her.

We had ordered scrambled eggs for breakfast and our eggs were watery. The hostess was busy trying to deal with a crying daughter, so perhaps her breakfasts are usually better.

In short, while I can't heartily recommend this B&B, I wouldn't caution against it either.


Stayed: April 2007
Thank mirsasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
7.2 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
7.2 km away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
21.7 km away
Ardrinane House
Ardrinane House
#51 of 75 in Dingle
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
802 reviews
6.8 km away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
471 reviews
6.9 km away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#8 of 75 in Dingle
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torann Na Dtonn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torann Na Dtonn

Address: Slea Head Route - Ventry, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: €30 - €32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Torann Na Dtonn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Country home beside Ventry Village with a truly magnificient view of Ventry Harbour and Dingle Bay. Located on Slea Head Drive. 4 mins walk to Ventry Village /blue flag sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Torann Na Dtonn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing