We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, but Something's Missing”
Review of Killfountain Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Killfountain Farm
Ranked #61 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here because we thought it would be fun to stay on a real farm. Accommodations were nice enough, perfectly fine (you are on a farm, remember), everything was clean, and they provided an excellent breakfast--probably the best breakfast we had. If you're going to Dingle you probably have a car so the location (just 2 km from town) shouldn't be an issue, and it was very nice and quiet here. The X factor at a B&B is your hosts, and that’s what’s missing here. Reading the reviews over the past several years, I think that the husband and wife that used to run the B&B are no longer there. One older review alludes to the wife having passed away; I believe I saw the older gentleman one morning who waved to be across the yard. But the people now running the B&B don’t seem to me to have their heart in it. My guess is that they keep it running for the income, not because they love meeting the travelers who come thru the door. The woman I emailed to book the room met us when we arrived, showed us our room, and then I never saw her again. There was a younger man (in his 40’s?) who we saw talking to one couple when we first arrived, who I never saw again until we paid for our room, and then he chatted me up for quite a while about our route, where to drive, how to get there, etc. I wish we had met him a little earlier in our stay. There were two other women who served and cleaned up the breakfast room; it didn’t appear to me that they were part of the family at the farm, but I could be wrong about that. They were friendly but a little rushed when we asked questions about what to see and where to go. In the end, it was more hotel than B&B. So if you want a clean, quiet, out of the way place to stay and don’t care about whether or not you interact with your hosts, you will like Killfountain Farm. If you’re looking for a warm and fuzzy rapport with your hosts, you will be very disappointed. I don’t want to knock any of them personally, those I did speak to were nice enough, it just it was it is… this B&B is not about the hosts, it’s about clean spacious rooms and excellent breakfast for a very good value. Note: they had the best black pudding we had in Ireland, actually the only black pudding I liked; it’s all in the seasoning, and this was very good.

A word of caution to US travelers: we thought it would be fun to be on a farm, I love farm animals, but because it was rainy the fields were all muddy so we neither went into the fields nor went anywhere near the animals. This was a blessing in disguise. When you go through customs and immigration for the US, you have to declare if you’ve been on a farm or come into contact with any livestock. We had to answer yes on our customs forms to these questions, and the customs official told us that had we actually gone into the fields they would have had to go through our things to make sure that all of our stuff was clean from the livestock. Staying at the farm was totally OK, but stay away from fields and animals.

Room Tip: From what we saw when other guests had their doors open, it looked like all three of the rooms right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Meridith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

The owners and staff are very friendly, the accomodation is of a good standard and the breakfast is great. Located within a 5 minute taxi ride into Dingle town I can definitely recommend Killfountain farm.

ps. if you need a taxi make sure to call Mr. Sheehy (local taxi driver) as he will charge EUR8.00 for four people to travel to the town centre while other taxis will charge you EUR12

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddiebig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at this b/b in August 2011. The property is very rural rather run down but that should be expected for working farm. The owner was so pleasant that you could overlook the very simple interior and all the furnishings.The linens and room were clean. Bathroom was large enough but be sure to pack your own toiletries.The traditional Irish breakfast was amazing!! My little girl met one of the the little fellas named Seamus .. such a cutie little boy.He showed her his kittens and cows! Very memorable for her you can bet. I would recommend this BB for the charm and it's close location to Dingle and the sights, which are breathtaking!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank irisheyes67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

After reading the reviews here, we chose this B&B for three reasons: it was less expensive than in town; we thought it would be quieter; we thought our daughter would enjoy staying on a real farm. It was less expensive, but we would not stay here again. Despite the fact that I had called ahead to let them know exactly when we were coming, we were greeted by one person staring at us, then another, then the question, "Are you looking for someone?" The hostess was later apologetic, but it wasn't exactly a warm welcome. Then there was the large blob of hair in the toilet (ugh), one towel that felt like sandpaper, a broken shower door, and completely inadequate water pressure (toilet doesn't do the job, then takes several minutes to refill). Our first night one of the dogs barked non-stop for an hour in the middle of the night (so much for quiet). The next day when we returned, they were burning garbage or brush under our window and all our belongings smelled of smoke. When we asked for another tea bag (only one was provided in a room for 3), it was delivered with a cold stare. Perhaps we caught them on a bad day, but it seemed all too clear that running the B&B was not the family's main priority. My husband described it as "a farm with a Motel-6 attached."

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kittypye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I didn't get the pleasure of meeting his wife, but Mr. Lynch was more than helpful in accommodating us. He was a little soft spoken until the next morning at breakfast, where he had us all laughing at some of his stories. It must have been a full house, as all the breakfast tables were filled with people. Breakfast was great as was the coffee! Mr. Lynch was super nice, and we were remarking later that he'd be great to go grab a pint of Guinness with.

The accommodations were good, but remember that you're on a farm. Don't expect luxurious surroundings and you'll be fine :) There were 3 of us, and we had the triple room ensuite. The bathroom was pretty small, but was fine. This was also the only B&B we stayed in during our trip that provided a mini fridge, which came in handy. The beds were comfy enough.

The B&B is located just a couple of minutes drive outside of town, which makes for a peaceful evening (no traffic, no noise at night!). When you drive up to the place, there are a couple of buildings. The one directly in front of you (as you drive up) is the one you need to go to. The building on the left is living quarters for other people (which we found out as we knocked on their door and seemingly woke someone up... oops).

All in all, I'd stay here again. I would have loved more time to sit and chat with Mr. Lynch, but we were there for only 1 night and had to drive north the next morning. He advised us to take Connor's Pass and showed us some pictures he had taken from the Pass. It did not disappoint. Connor's Pass was spectacular! Thanks for the heads up!

Room Tip: Ask for a mini fridge if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meskin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
2.4 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.9 km away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#5 of 75 in Dingle
468 reviews
2.1 km away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Broigin Farmhouse
Broigin Farmhouse
#9 of 22 in Dingle
30 reviews
1.4 km away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
2.5 km away
Ashe's B&B
Ashe's B&B
#49 of 75 in Dingle
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killfountain Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killfountain Farm

Address: Killfountain, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: €63 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killfountain Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killfountain Farm, is a traditional family run farmhouse bed & breakfast offering an excellent standard of accommodation.It's a great base from which to explore the Dingle Peninsula.The thriving town of Dingle is only 2km away. There are 6 guest bedrooms, 5 of which have en suite facilities. We are approved members of Bord Fáilte (Irish Tourist Board) and Irish Farmhouse Holidays. Also we are Le Guide De Routard recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Killfountain Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing