We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Ireland trip dining”
Review of Solas Tapas & Wine

Solas Tapas & Wine
Ranked #18 of 78 Restaurants in Dingle
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Description: Tapas & Wine bar located in the heart of Dingle town using the best of local ingredients to create a unique and unforgettable food experience!
Restaurant details
Description: Tapas & Wine bar located in the heart of Dingle town using the best of local ingredients to create a unique and unforgettable food experience!
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Folks in or visiting Dingle are very lucky to have this place to enjoy. small, stylish tapas spot putting out excellent small plates. recommended by our accommodation hosts and we went in without much expectation. we were seated and attended to quickly and politely. i think a couple of our dishes may have been specials but not sure. we had:
-chorizo and manchego croquettes.perfect.
-outstanding fried squid with unique honey pepper sauce
-spanish jamon with fruit chutney and mustard-delicious
-gin marinated fennel salad almonds. again unique and so tasty.
-fried hake filet with crumbled jamon. fish so fresh.
-roasted(?) pork cheek with colcannon-mashed potatoes with leeks or cabbage. this
was the only real miss as the pork was a good bit overdone and tasted bitter.
this meal was a highlight of our Irish dining and told the waitress to let the chef know how much we enjoyed our meal. i would dine there regularly if given the opportunity.
somewhat pricy by most standards much the food was worth it IMO. anyone who complains about price to portion doesn't fully understand the tapas concept.
highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank mlpbjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann C, Manager at Solas Tapas & Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

It’s lovely to get feedback from someone who gets tapas. It’s an alternative to the regular dining we have become accustomed to inireland but it’s such a lovely way to eat. Small plates, lots of different flavors and tastes.
Our pork dish is no longer on the menu.....it was never one of Nicky’s favorites!!
Appreciate the review and hope to see you again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2018

This place came recommended by our B&B and boy, am I glad I listened! The decor was lovely and the staff attentive. I was dining alone so could only try two dishes but both were fantastic. The octopus was served two ways, both very tasty, and the seafood risotto was one of my favorite dishes from my entire trip. The wine list was nice as well. I would highly recommend checking this place out!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank oldqueencole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann C, Manager at Solas Tapas & Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thanks to your b&b for recommending us and thanks to you for your recommendation also. The octopus dish started out as a special but proved so popular Nicky (chef) reckoned it well deserved a more permanent position on the menu.
Thanks again, appreciate the 5 stars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We eat here on Saturday night after a hectic day at the Dingle food festival. The atmosphere was brilliant and the staff efficient and friendly. Would highly recommend this to anyone in Dingle looking for something a little different but still want local produce.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Eleanormcgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann C, Manager at Solas Tapas & Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi...everyone was on a high after a fantastic first day at the food festival. We were busy but there definitely was a buzz still in the air. All our customers picked up on it and it made for a great night in Solas.
Thank you for the review and please, please come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We were looking for vegan options for dinner and found that little gem . We had six vegan options for tapas and all were delicious!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Akasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann C, Manager at Solas Tapas & Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

It’s nice to have choices. Glad you were happy with the ones from Solas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

3 of us ate here after a long day! I was nervous that tapas would not fill my appetite, I was wrong. Not only did it fill me at a great price, the food was Delicious, healthy and the service was fast!!

The atmosphere in Solas was warm and welcoming, with a joyful feel around the restaurant.

Highly recommend it!!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sheeclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann C, Manager at Solas Tapas & Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

It’s alwsys a gamble eating somewhere you’ve never been before. We’re really glad you ventured in to us and enjoyed the experience. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solas Tapas & Wine also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Solas Tapas & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing