We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowlegeable and Personal Tour of the Peninsula”
Review of Dingle Tours

Dingle Tours
Ranked #5 of 28 Tours in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wrightwood, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Knowlegeable and Personal Tour of the Peninsula”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I booked with Denis over the internet, and he was prompt in picking us up from our Bed and Breakfast. He was very informative about the peninsula, and we thouroghly enjoyed our day. It was great to have someone who knew the area show us around, instead of trying to do the drive ourselves. Denis took pictures of the four of us in the various locations, and we have some fun shots because of his good eye. He also gave us a great tip on where to have dinner and hear traditional music. We were not dissappointed! I would not hesitate to recommend his tour to anyone visiting Dingle.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank cheerfulkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A magical tour with Denis”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My husband and I took a 4 hour tour with Denis on Sunday June 12, 2011. From the moment he picked us up at our B & B, I felt a connection with him. This tour is so personal-- with many choices. Being in his car instead of a huge otur bus is the only way to see Slea Head and all the special places around the peninsula.

We headed off to the former Lord Ventry's estate, to see Ogham stones, and learned about the ground stones for the first time. At Dun Beag, he shared the secrets of the fort and its design. Driving the Slea Head with Denis was great. He found us the best places for pictures, and told us stories and folk lore as he drove. Ask him about the holy wells and the raggy trees.

The beehive huts from the inside are amazing. I learned so much from him. Now I understand Ring Forts. He took us to a great little shop with great home baked desserts, and a super book collection, and I picked his brain about the books, and watched the misty rain come and go, hiding and revealing the Blasket Islands.

The four hour tour FLEW BY. I only wish we'd had more days to spend in Dingle, so that we could have booked more tour time with Denis. And we listened to his wonderful singing group too! The tour felt like we were riding with a friend of an old friend, warm, fascinating, and full of good humor and insight. This afternoon was so special Thank you so much, Denis, for all you shared and taught us that afternoon.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaEllenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Booterstown, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dingle, a unique harbour village”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

During my visit to county Kerry in november 2010 I spent one day in Dingle. The weather was exceptional good that day. I went by bus from Tralee to Dingle. Dingle is a small harbour village on the Dingle Peninsula, county Kerry. Most popular attraction is Fungi the dolphin. Boats leave from the pier daily for one-hour dolphin-spotting trips. Dingle has a unique scenery. There are a lot of shops selling hand-made arts and crafts. In the village there are approximately 52 pubs! In which you can enjoy live traditional Irish music! From the village you can make walking tours. There is the Dingle Music School. It offers workshops in bodhrán and thin whistle. You can visit Dingle Oceanworld and do horse riding. Lot's of things to do there! I was very surprised. Well worth a visit!

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank Trees R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We hired Denis for two tours when we were in Dingle. We were a bit concerned about not having a rental car for the week, but after our first tour we realized we would have missed so much if we'd tried to do it on our own. Denis was a fantastic tour guide and was very considerate of my husband's hearing loss (he was really struggling with the Irish accents). We were so pleased we hired him for a second tour a couple of days later. Well worth the money.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasonedTraveler044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellbrook, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“private , fun and tailored to our needs”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We are 5 mature adults who booked Denis for a tour of Dingle in May. He is a combination of Woodie Guthrie and Ken Burns with a little George Carlin. We learned more about Ireland in half a day than we had the first two weeks. Denis is very entertaining and has a wealth of knowledge both political , historical and musical. He also has that very dry irish wit and humor we learned to love. He taught how early Gaelic writing started and how to recognize it. he took us to behive stone huts and an ancient stone church. we avoided a lot of other tourist and had several sites to ourself. The price was 40 euro and he normally only takes groups of 4 or less. He took all 5 of us and we offered to drive. He ordinarily picks you up if you are near Dingle and brings you back to your b&b. He is in to photography and music. He took us to several locations for photos that were exceptionally beautiful. He took several photos of us that were top grade with our cameras. He is a muscian and gave us a cd of his work. He took us to a stop that had good food and greater desserts. One of the most interesting tours we have ever had. Dont miss it. Lots of local color and quite fun.We miss you Denis already. marc ,viv ,steve ,lisbeth and jay

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank robertbell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dingle Tours also viewed

 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Dingle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing