We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Best tour/tour guide ever

My husband and I took a half day private tour of the Dingle peninsula with Mossie in March 2019 and... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2020
carlyr548
Unforgettable

We decided to go for the half day because we thought the full day would be to long with our four... read more

Reviewed 24 August 2020
A5hl3yR16CE
,
Newry, United Kingdom
Read all 92 reviews
  
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
92
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
92
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half day tour dingle peninsula historical tour highly recommend a trip small hike conor pass highlight of our trip his knowledge four hours photo ops private tour come alive baby lambs tour group beehive huts great trip tourist office
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We got in to town late one evening and decided to book a tour of the Dingle Peninsula. We were a party of 5 (my wife and I plus our 2 grown children and one spouse). We were fortunate to find that Mossie had an opening the next morning so we booked the trip. We awoke to a very foggy morning and met Mossie in the parking lot and were greeted with "no obligation - it's foggy and we may not see as much as we should". At that point we knew we had an honest tour guide. Since it was foggy, Mossy asked if it was OK to give us a more historical tour of the area. Mossie has a great knowledge of the potato famine and what really happened during this tragic part of Ireland's history. He took us up to the old hospital where thousands were taken in their final hours and then disposed into mass graves in the hills behind Dingle. He took us through many different areas in Dingle and explained the long history of British rule and subsequent Irish history. He then drove us around the Dingle Peninsula with truly unique stops (including a bistro with outstanding pastries and an astounding view of the Dingle countryside). He knows Dingle like the back of his hand and gave us great recommendations as to restaurants, pubs and where the best Irish music was to be found. Mossy has a great sense of humor with lots of stories. He seems to know just about everyone in town, speaks Gaelic fluently (including written a book in Gaelic) and has even taught a course at Notre Dame University relating to Irish culture. This tour went way beyond looking at the local scenery and really gave us a much deeper understanding of Irish history on a very personal level.
As we finished our tour, he again apologized for the foggy weather and offered to take us out again (no charge) once the fog lifted. Unfortunately that didn't happen before we had to leave Dingle, but we still really enjoyed our tour and was one of the highlights of our trip.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank PJCKWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Mossie is a gentleman and a scholar, and I mean that in every sense of the word. My wife and I, along with another couple from the states, hired Mossie for a trip around Slea Head drive out of Dingle, Ireland, and it was hands down one of the best parts of our trip. The man knows more about the country and it's history than any person I've ever met, and his passion and love for knowledge and history shows through. My only regret is that we didn't book him for an all day tour. Wonderful experience......will absolutely do it again!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank oarcantouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This was the best 3 hours we spent during our Honeymoon in Ireland. We hired Mossie for a private tour around the Dingle Peninsula- he picked us up at our B&B in town in the morning, and dropped us off just after 1pm. First stop was on the Conner Pass, where Mossie showed us a trail up a mountain and said that the hike was worth it; boy was it, at the end of the 25 min hike we came across a remote reservoir, hidden in the mountains. (The most breathtaking part of the tour) We saw the city and learned about the history of the community and its people; then toured the countryside and stopped at one of the local farms to hold a baby goat and learn about the ancient stone huts. If we had know about Mossie earlier in our trip, we would have hired him to give us the whole tour of Ireland. The knowledge Mossie had of the history and the stories he told about the land were incredible. Would recommend anyone spend as much time with him as possible.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank LaurenL2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We only booked the 3-hour tour, wishing now we booked the whole day. Mossie was very knowledgeable, friendly, funny, and enthusiastic for all things Irish.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 694glent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Mossie greeted me at my Inn with a brilliant smile! I knew immediately that great fun was in my future. Mossie has a wealth of knowledge and makes the history come alive. I would to have another adventure with him! You will have a treasure day with Mossie behind the wheel. And hopefully, he'll sing a song or two!
Enjoy!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank marylouisenewburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews