We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again !”
Review of Druid Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Druid Cottage
Ranked #56 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Although the place looks pleasant from the outside, the rooms are small and the bathroom even smaller. The Landlady was very unfriendly. I was booked in to this place for a cycling trip and had to go there twice. Thankfully the Landlady was not there for the 2nd visit.
Hoever, on the first stay, it was raining in the morning so we thought we could delay our start to see if the rain would let up. The Landlady informed us that we should bring our luggage out the room as it would be picked up in 15 minutes (After 2.5 Hours was still not picked up). Unfortunately I had a puncture on my bike and had to repair and needed to go into town (15 minute walk). Finally I was ready to leave at 11:45. I asked if I could wash my habds and use a toilet. "No", I should go down to the next hotel and use the facilities there ! Great hospitality eh ?

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnerbelieveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

This B&B is a 2-storey stone building within walking distance to town. The host was friendly, and the breakfast was good, but the overall impression was just average due to the slightly run-down condition of the rooms, and the cleanliness of the bed linen. Any renovations must have been done some time ago. We had the downstairs room at the back with the stone wall. The room was small, but the lower than average price should lower your expectations.

Room Tip: As usual, downstairs rooms have noise problems from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taisapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My friend and I enjoyed our stay at this quaint little cottage. The owner, was exceptional, pleasnat and available. We loved the half front door as we approached the cottage. Very clean, and the breakfast was over the top. Druid Cottage is is walking distance to the town of Kenmare. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

The hosts were helpful and it is in a great location to walk into Kenmare. My husband and I always stay at places that we can walk to the pubs. We loved the house, it is interesting with lots of character. Kenmare is a wonderful, friendly town and a great place to stay when touring the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loobobone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Booked the B&B well in advance. Got a phone call asking us when we would be arriving and asking us to confirm our arrival, which is fair enough. We ran twice on day of arrival as we ended up being an hour late and didnt want that to be a problem. Arrived at 6:30 PM with our luggage at the door only to be told there was a terrible mistake and one of their other guests had miscommunicated they wanted to stay further nights- she had arranged another B&B for us in Kenmare for that night. We had no option but to take her B&B as it was too late to go anywhere else. The new B&B was near a road and would not have been our choice. Left with distinct impression that we were gazumped and were just thrown out to one of her mates B&B's.
Left with a terrible impression of Kenmare and that its a tourist trap. We should have gotten a phone call when she heard there was an overbooking not at 6:30 in the evening.We could have made alternative arrangements and there would have been no problem.
Wont be back in Kenmare thats for sure.
My advice is that in high season this B&B cant be trusted to keep a one night booking -if a better offer comes in youre toast.
Avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Dermod98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.5 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
987 reviews
21.1 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
2.6 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
706 reviews
1.1 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
2.6 km away
The Courtyard at Sheen Falls Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Druid Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Druid Cottage

Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: €76 - €78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Druid Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing