We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Druid Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Druid Cottage
Ranked #57 of 63 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wehr
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Never again !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Although the place looks pleasant from the outside, the rooms are small and the bathroom even smaller. The Landlady was very unfriendly. I was booked in to this place for a cycling trip and had to go there twice. Thankfully the Landlady was not there for the 2nd visit.
Hoever, on the first stay, it was raining in the morning so we thought we could delay our start to see if the rain would let up. The Landlady informed us that we should bring our luggage out the room as it would be picked up in 15 minutes (After 2.5 Hours was still not picked up). Unfortunately I had a puncture on my bike and had to repair and needed to go into town (15 minute walk). Finally I was ready to leave at 11:45. I asked if I could wash my habds and use a toilet. "No", I should go down to the next hotel and use the facilities there ! Great hospitality eh ?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnerbelieveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    27
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
14
40
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

This B&B is a 2-storey stone building within walking distance to town. The host was friendly, and the breakfast was good, but the overall impression was just average due to the slightly run-down condition of the rooms, and the cleanliness of the bed linen. Any renovations must have been done some time ago. We had the downstairs room at the back with the stone wall. The room was small, but the lower than average price should lower your expectations.

Room Tip: As usual, downstairs rooms have noise problems from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taisapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

My friend and I enjoyed our stay at this quaint little cottage. The owner, was exceptional, pleasnat and available. We loved the half front door as we approached the cottage. Very clean, and the breakfast was over the top. Druid Cottage is is walking distance to the town of Kenmare. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

The hosts were helpful and it is in a great location to walk into Kenmare. My husband and I always stay at places that we can walk to the pubs. We loved the house, it is interesting with lots of character. Kenmare is a wonderful, friendly town and a great place to stay when touring the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobobone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Booked the B&B well in advance. Got a phone call asking us when we would be arriving and asking us to confirm our arrival, which is fair enough. We ran twice on day of arrival as we ended up being an hour late and didnt want that to be a problem. Arrived at 6:30 PM with our luggage at the door only to be told there was a terrible mistake and one of their other guests had miscommunicated they wanted to stay further nights- she had arranged another B&B for us in Kenmare for that night. We had no option but to take her B&B as it was too late to go anywhere else. The new B&B was near a road and would not have been our choice. Left with distinct impression that we were gazumped and were just thrown out to one of her mates B&B's.
Left with a terrible impression of Kenmare and that its a tourist trap. We should have gotten a phone call when she heard there was an overbooking not at 6:30 in the evening.We could have made alternative arrangements and there would have been no problem.
Wont be back in Kenmare thats for sure.
My advice is that in high season this B&B cant be trusted to keep a one night booking -if a better offer comes in youre toast.
Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dermod98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kenmare hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
1.9 km away
Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage
0.2 km away
River Meadows B&B
River Meadows B&B
#44 of 63 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.7 km away
Ardmore House B&B
Ardmore House B&B
#42 of 63 in Kenmare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe
0.2 km away
2 Mile Lodge
2 Mile Lodge
#11 of 63 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.8 km away
Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Druid Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Druid Cottage

Property: Druid Cottage
Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Druid Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing