We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenmare Failte Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Stayed here for one night while touring Ireland with my cousins. The hostel was clean, room was quiet, staff were friendly and helpful, and the place was well-located in the center of Kenmare.

Parking was a bit of a challenge as we got there late in the day and both the hostel and public lot were full, but we were able to park across the street. Great value for the money and location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sueado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you will visit us again.

Warmest Regards,
Maureen & Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Wasn't sure what to expect. Family of 6. Booked 2 rooms. Welcoming and owner run. Very spacious in bedrooms and kitchen etc and despite been full was not overcrowded. Great to use as a base for exploring Kerry.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Muiris2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review and we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit us again some time.
Warmest Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

This is an excellently run hostel. It is clean with good kitchen and good rest room. even the choice of books available for reading are excellent with a focus on local history. The hostel is right spot on in the middle of everything. There is a choice of rooms from dormer to on suite rooms with the prices varying but good value.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnmurphyie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Lovely to read this. Thank you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit again.
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

I have visited here with wife any young child for 7 year in a row. The 'other' hostel in town become a launderette about 8 or 9 years ago and I'm sure some of the budget accommodation over the pubs may be OK, but expect noise. The reality is this handsome Georgian building is right in the centre of town and cannot be more conveniently located for the restaurants and bars. Friendly staff. Excellent reading material downstairs in a vintage drawing room, both flyers and books. Lovely old Kitchen with complimentary tea, coffee, cereal and toast. I've never been in the dorms but the ensuite rooms are quiet with no noise; there is no bar on this particular street.This is a busy tourist town that acts as a gateway to 2 peninsulas and is a heritage town in it's own right. Accommodation is limited at peak times as it is not possible to build new large hotels in the town, itself, without ruining the look of Kenmare. So do book as far ahead as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank georgewashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It's lovely to read reviews like this and know we are doing a good job in making your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Warmest Regards,
Aoife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights in a private room. It is in a very convenient location to the center of Kenmare and close to free parking. There was free breakfast and the other guests were very considerate.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank avvharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you so much and we are happy you had a lovely stay with us. We hope you will visit us again.
Warmest Regards,
Maureen & Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
22 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.4 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
997 reviews
0.8 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
702 reviews
0.2 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.2 km away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Failte Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Failte Hostel

Address: Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range: €41 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded 'The Best IHH Town Hostel in Ireland, & Fáilte Ireland approved since 1986, Kenmare Fáilte Hostel is family-run and 'A Home from Home', situated in the centre of Kenmare town - across from the Post Office on the corner of Shelbourne Street. We provide private rooms en-suite as well as dormitory rooms for a very reasonable price. There is a fully equipped self-catering Kitchen with Aga Cooker which is always on creating a very welcoming atmosphere, where you can cook - have a cup of 'free' tea or coffee, and have an interesting chat with the hostel team & other guests...and if that doesn't interest you - there is a sitting-room and dining room with many reading material to choose from, along with board games, and 'free to air' satellite stations. There is FREE wifi provided in public areas downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kenmare Failte Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing