We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
65
31
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
31
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location friendly family run budget accommodation public lot hiking trip sitting room big kitchen would stay here again common room excellent facilities cup of tea double bed stayed here for two nights centre of town other guests live music dorm
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2017

I have visited here with wife any young child for 7 year in a row. The 'other' hostel in town become a launderette about 8 or 9 years ago and I'm sure some of the budget accommodation over the pubs may be OK, but expect noise. The reality is this handsome Georgian building is right in the centre of town and cannot be more conveniently located for the restaurants and bars. Friendly staff. Excellent reading material downstairs in a vintage drawing room, both flyers and books. Lovely old Kitchen with complimentary tea, coffee, cereal and toast. I've never been in the dorms but the ensuite rooms are quiet with no noise; there is no bar on this particular street.This is a busy tourist town that acts as a gateway to 2 peninsulas and is a heritage town in it's own right. Accommodation is limited at peak times as it is not possible to build new large hotels in the town, itself, without ruining the look of Kenmare. So do book as far ahead as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank georgewashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It's lovely to read reviews like this and know we are doing a good job in making your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Warmest Regards,
Aoife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights in a private room. It is in a very convenient location to the center of Kenmare and close to free parking. There was free breakfast and the other guests were very considerate.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank avvharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you so much and we are happy you had a lovely stay with us. We hope you will visit us again.
Warmest Regards,
Maureen & Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Comfortable well equipped hostel in a great location - good parking available beside the nearby Garda Station. The proprietors are very helpful and welcoming so the hostel is well named. Spotlessly clean with oodles of hot water in excellent showers. Sturdy wooden framed bunk beds in roomy dorm with a selection of other room types also available. Excellent Wi Fi and the kitchen has a working AGA on which one can cook scrambled eggs beautifully. A mature and very well maintained building that has great character. A short walk to shops, bars and Quinlan's excellent fish restaurant.
I'm very much looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OldRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are glad you had a lovely stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back - soon we hope.
Warmest Regards,
Maureen & Aoife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

super location, super friendly and super well equipped! We traveled in a group of eleven for a hiking trip and it was perfect. Comfy beds, decent showers, two kitchens and an impressive sitting room. Staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are delighted to see you think we are a 'luxury' accommodation. We are a family-run Hostel and do try to make our guests feel welcome and at home during their stay. We hope you will come back to visit us again - in 2018 perhaps!
Warm Regards,
Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Stayed there recently in a group of 11 friends. It's a big house with lots of space and big bedrooms. Plenty of communal space for us to sit around the table for a cup of tea.

The welcome from Aoife and Maureen was fantastic - a genuine and rare warmth. I've stayed in quite a few hostel's throughout Europe and I's say this was the best I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted to see you think we are the best Hostel you have stayed in in Europe! We hope to welcome you back again sometime.
Warmest Regards,
Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews