We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenmare Failte Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights in a private room. It is in a very convenient location to the center of Kenmare and close to free parking. There was free breakfast and the other guests were very considerate.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank avvharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you so much and we are happy you had a lovely stay with us. We hope you will visit us again.
Warmest Regards,
Maureen & Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

Comfortable well equipped hostel in a great location - good parking available beside the nearby Garda Station. The proprietors are very helpful and welcoming so the hostel is well named. Spotlessly clean with oodles of hot water in excellent showers. Sturdy wooden framed bunk beds in roomy dorm with a selection of other room types also available. Excellent Wi Fi and the kitchen has a working AGA on which one can cook scrambled eggs beautifully. A mature and very well maintained building that has great character. A short walk to shops, bars and Quinlan's excellent fish restaurant.
I'm very much looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Old Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are glad you had a lovely stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back - soon we hope.
Warmest Regards,
Maureen & Aoife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

super location, super friendly and super well equipped! We traveled in a group of eleven for a hiking trip and it was perfect. Comfy beds, decent showers, two kitchens and an impressive sitting room. Staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacockwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are delighted to see you think we are a 'luxury' accommodation. We are a family-run Hostel and do try to make our guests feel welcome and at home during their stay. We hope you will come back to visit us again - in 2018 perhaps!
Warm Regards,
Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Stayed there recently in a group of 11 friends. It's a big house with lots of space and big bedrooms. Plenty of communal space for us to sit around the table for a cup of tea.

The welcome from Aoife and Maureen was fantastic - a genuine and rare warmth. I've stayed in quite a few hostel's throughout Europe and I's say this was the best I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted to see you think we are the best Hostel you have stayed in in Europe! We hope to welcome you back again sometime.
Warmest Regards,
Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

I was taking part in the ring of Beara cycle and checked in early evening with no issues. The hostel is very clean and tidy and in close proximity to restaurants, pubs and shops. The hostel has a facility to secure your bicycle which is great as I was afraid to leave in car overnight. There are a few free car parks within walking distance of the hostel. Great washing facilities in the hotel and plenty of hot water. Very friendly family run hostel. I will definitely stay here in 2018 ring of Beara cycle.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Woody8276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are very happy we made your stay and enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you in 2018!
Warmest Regards,
Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
22 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.4 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
997 reviews
0.8 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
702 reviews
0.2 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.2 km away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Failte Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Failte Hostel

Address: Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range: €41 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded 'The Best IHH Town Hostel in Ireland, & Fáilte Ireland approved since 1986, Kenmare Fáilte Hostel is family-run and 'A Home from Home', situated in the centre of Kenmare town - across from the Post Office on the corner of Shelbourne Street. We provide private rooms en-suite as well as dormitory rooms for a very reasonable price. There is a fully equipped self-catering Kitchen with Aga Cooker which is always on creating a very welcoming atmosphere, where you can cook - have a cup of 'free' tea or coffee, and have an interesting chat with the hostel team & other guests...and if that doesn't interest you - there is a sitting-room and dining room with many reading material to choose from, along with board games, and 'free to air' satellite stations. There is FREE wifi provided in public areas downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kenmare Failte Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing