We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
65
31
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
31
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfriendly family runbudget accommodationpublic lothiking tripsitting roombig kitchenwould stay here againcommon roomexcellent facilitiescup of teadouble bedstayed here for two nightscentre of townother guestsmaureendorm
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2017

super location, super friendly and super well equipped! We traveled in a group of eleven for a hiking trip and it was perfect. Comfy beds, decent showers, two kitchens and an impressive sitting room. Staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are delighted to see you think we are a 'luxury' accommodation. We are a family-run Hostel and do try to make our guests feel welcome and at home during their stay. We hope you will come back to visit us again - in 2018 perhaps!
Warm Regards,
Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Stayed there recently in a group of 11 friends. It's a big house with lots of space and big bedrooms. Plenty of communal space for us to sit around the table for a cup of tea.

The welcome from Aoife and Maureen was fantastic - a genuine and rare warmth. I've stayed in quite a few hostel's throughout Europe and I's say this was the best I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted to see you think we are the best Hostel you have stayed in in Europe! We hope to welcome you back again sometime.
Warmest Regards,
Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

I was taking part in the ring of Beara cycle and checked in early evening with no issues. The hostel is very clean and tidy and in close proximity to restaurants, pubs and shops. The hostel has a facility to secure your bicycle which is great as I was afraid to leave in car overnight. There are a few free car parks within walking distance of the hostel. Great washing facilities in the hotel and plenty of hot water. Very friendly family run hostel. I will definitely stay here in 2018 ring of Beara cycle.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Woody8276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are very happy we made your stay and enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you in 2018!
Warmest Regards,
Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

we were a large family group,with a big span of ages and requests--and all our needs were met--the large well-equipped Warm kitchen was perfect for catering for a crowd--and the central location meant that we could hop out and visit the local restaurants and bars with ease---and the cosy living /TV room was ideal for those who wanted to sit in and chill

Room Tip: there are a great variety of rooms from doubles to dorms
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docmarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted you and your family had a lovely stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed at the Hostel for one night while walking the Kerry Way.

This is a fair sized hostel. It has a well equipped kitchen with tea, coffee and milk provided.

I had a room with ensuite. It was a large room with a double bed and bunk bed. Plenty of space though sparsely furnished. A slight downside with the bathroom showers is that the showers are push button and the temperature is set, you cant adjust it.

Linen and a doona/duvee are provided. Towels arent provided but you can hire them. There is free WiFi which worked well.

The hostel is ideally located on the corner of Shelbourne Street and Henry Street the latter being the main source of pubs and cafe options. It is about 300m off the Kerry Way. The best way to find it coming off the trail is to walk directly along the trail to the centre of Kenmare (at the village green) then walk up Henry Street on your right. The hostel is on your left on Shelbourne Street just where the two streets meet.

The price was very reasonable compared to other hostel options on the route.

Taking account of location and price I think this is a Very Good for a Hostel

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a lovely stay with us.
We have push button power showers to conserve energy.
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews