We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$147
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$145
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse(Kenmare)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lodge(Kenmare)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$422
US$396
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$526
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,044/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
62
30
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
30
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfriendly family runbudget accommodationpublic lotsitting roomwould stay here againcommon roomexcellent facilitiesother guestsstayed here for two nightstea and coffeecentre of towndormensuiteshowerpubskerry
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

we were a large family group,with a big span of ages and requests--and all our needs were met--the large well-equipped Warm kitchen was perfect for catering for a crowd--and the central location meant that we could hop out and visit the local restaurants and bars with ease---and the cosy living /TV room was ideal for those who wanted to sit in and chill

Room Tip: there are a great variety of rooms from doubles to dorms
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docmarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted you and your family had a lovely stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed at the Hostel for one night while walking the Kerry Way.

This is a fair sized hostel. It has a well equipped kitchen with tea, coffee and milk provided.

I had a room with ensuite. It was a large room with a double bed and bunk bed. Plenty of space though sparsely furnished. A slight downside with the bathroom showers is that the showers are push button and the temperature is set, you cant adjust it.

Linen and a doona/duvee are provided. Towels arent provided but you can hire them. There is free WiFi which worked well.

The hostel is ideally located on the corner of Shelbourne Street and Henry Street the latter being the main source of pubs and cafe options. It is about 300m off the Kerry Way. The best way to find it coming off the trail is to walk directly along the trail to the centre of Kenmare (at the village green) then walk up Henry Street on your right. The hostel is on your left on Shelbourne Street just where the two streets meet.

The price was very reasonable compared to other hostel options on the route.

Taking account of location and price I think this is a Very Good for a Hostel

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a lovely stay with us.
We have push button power showers to conserve energy.
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We had the opportunity to stay here for only one night to launch our drive through the ring of Kerry. Great, no nonsense, clean and somewhat romantic older place but modern in conveniences.
We had an ensuite room which was spacious and clean. The room was ready when we got there so we dumped our bags and explored all the cool places to dine and the cool shops in town. Great location with public parking just a couple doors down across from the petrol station.
They've got rules.
Keeps the place tidy and well managed.
We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mo-roc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you had a lovely stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This hostel is clean and feels warm. Staff is attentive and kind and everything has this home-like atmosphere. The place was a large house once (at least, it seems like that), so it has around six rooms, which are excellent regarding prices. You will, of course, sleep well and have a good stay. =)

  • Stayed: September 2016
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are glad you felt warm and cosy! We are a family-run Hostel so we do our best to make you feel at home.
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

You feel as if you enter your home as soon as you walk over the tiles in the entrance. Warm welcome by the staff.
Our room in the highest floor unfortunately had the problem that water (sweaty or rain wet clothes) would mostly stay in the room.
Well organized kitchen which invites to cook and stay there.
Warmly furnished lounge with books, sofa and even a plastic cat.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dellam0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a nice stay with us.
Our bedrooms are not suitable for 'drying' clothes-we do offer to dry your clothes if you had asked. We also have designated areas to hang your clothes so they can dry!
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews