We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price make this a good option when hiking the Kerry Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenmare Failte Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed at the Hostel for one night while walking the Kerry Way.

This is a fair sized hostel. It has a well equipped kitchen with tea, coffee and milk provided.

I had a room with ensuite. It was a large room with a double bed and bunk bed. Plenty of space though sparsely furnished. A slight downside with the bathroom showers is that the showers are push button and the temperature is set, you cant adjust it.

Linen and a doona/duvee are provided. Towels arent provided but you can hire them. There is free WiFi which worked well.

The hostel is ideally located on the corner of Shelbourne Street and Henry Street the latter being the main source of pubs and cafe options. It is about 300m off the Kerry Way. The best way to find it coming off the trail is to walk directly along the trail to the centre of Kenmare (at the village green) then walk up Henry Street on your right. The hostel is on your left on Shelbourne Street just where the two streets meet.

The price was very reasonable compared to other hostel options on the route.

Taking account of location and price I think this is a Very Good for a Hostel

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a lovely stay with us.
We have push button power showers to conserve energy.
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We had the opportunity to stay here for only one night to launch our drive through the ring of Kerry. Great, no nonsense, clean and somewhat romantic older place but modern in conveniences.
We had an ensuite room which was spacious and clean. The room was ready when we got there so we dumped our bags and explored all the cool places to dine and the cool shops in town. Great location with public parking just a couple doors down across from the petrol station.
They've got rules.
Keeps the place tidy and well managed.
We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mo-roc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you had a lovely stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This hostel is clean and feels warm. Staff is attentive and kind and everything has this home-like atmosphere. The place was a large house once (at least, it seems like that), so it has around six rooms, which are excellent regarding prices. You will, of course, sleep well and have a good stay. =)

  • Stayed: September 2016
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are glad you felt warm and cosy! We are a family-run Hostel so we do our best to make you feel at home.
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

You feel as if you enter your home as soon as you walk over the tiles in the entrance. Warm welcome by the staff.
Our room in the highest floor unfortunately had the problem that water (sweaty or rain wet clothes) would mostly stay in the room.
Well organized kitchen which invites to cook and stay there.
Warmly furnished lounge with books, sofa and even a plastic cat.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dellam0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a nice stay with us.
Our bedrooms are not suitable for 'drying' clothes-we do offer to dry your clothes if you had asked. We also have designated areas to hang your clothes so they can dry!
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

The value, location, and comfort of this hostel simply can not be beat. We stayed in a private room which was spacious, with comfortable beds and a view of the Main Street. There are two kitchens with excellent cooking supplies, dishes, and anything else you could need. It was a pretty social hostel and would be great for solo travelers, but was still quiet at night. It's also steps away from the main streets in Kenmare, which was ideal. Make sure you check out Reenagross Park a few houses down; it's great for a run or walk. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Wow-thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted we are one of the best hostels you have stayed in. We would love to welcome you back.
Warm Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
22 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.4 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
997 reviews
0.8 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
702 reviews
0.2 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.2 km away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Failte Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Failte Hostel

Address: Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range: €41 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded 'The Best IHH Town Hostel in Ireland, & Fáilte Ireland approved since 1986, Kenmare Fáilte Hostel is family-run and 'A Home from Home', situated in the centre of Kenmare town - across from the Post Office on the corner of Shelbourne Street. We provide private rooms en-suite as well as dormitory rooms for a very reasonable price. There is a fully equipped self-catering Kitchen with Aga Cooker which is always on creating a very welcoming atmosphere, where you can cook - have a cup of 'free' tea or coffee, and have an interesting chat with the hostel team & other guests...and if that doesn't interest you - there is a sitting-room and dining room with many reading material to choose from, along with board games, and 'free to air' satellite stations. There is FREE wifi provided in public areas downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kenmare Failte Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing