We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maureen is an absolute star, I highly recommend this hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenmare Failte Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2015

The room was clean and comfortable and the shower / bathroom area was clean and well decorated. The kitchen is a dream with the AGA cooker and the high quality cooking pans and equipment. Would we go back? most definitely. We arrived late, tired and hungry and maureen made us feel most welcome

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2015

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely seeing this review. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Kindest Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Good hostel with large fully equipped kitchen and nice old furniture. It's clean but they never cleaned the room while we were there. The location is centrical. Free tea and some snack is also available.

Room Tip: We were in the triple en-suite room which was good. Never saw other dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2015

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do service the rooms, free of charge, if you are staying for more than 3 x nights and if you request it. The next time you stay - be sure to mention this and we will of course clean your room during your stay.
Kindest Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at Failte Hostel for a few nights and it was great. Clean, spacious room for three, nice view of the yard, quiet despite being on the streets intersection, easy to find, cozy common room, a great selection of books to read, spacious and very well equipped kitchen, helpful and polite staff, good wifi signal.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maria13919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2015

Thanks a million for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kindest Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our short flight from England was delayed...we made it to the Failte Hostel at around 11pm on a Wednesday.

A telephone number found on the front door with clear instructions to call should no-one answer after knocking.

Maureen, the hostel owner arrived within minutes of our call with friendly open arms, welcoming us to Kenmare.

We were guided through the hostel, Maureen pinpointing necessities, to our room.

Located on a junction there was inevitable noise from traffic though being really honest, this caused us no problems at all. The weather meant our window had to stay open though due to the amount of walking/fresh air etc we took no rocking to sleep.

A fantastic location meaning minutes walking to the cafes/restaurants and pubs.

Such a friendly town, perfectly located for the Ring of Kerry and the Ring of Beara.

I have to say that this hostel is definitely among my favourite after staying in many Irish Hostels over the years.

Many thanks to Maureen and Monica for making us so welcome. :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScoobyDoo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2015

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Maureen & Monica look forward to welcoming you again soon some day!
Kindest Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We only stayed one night at this hostel, and it was quite a nice one. Very, very clean, and my 18 year old son and I had a huge private room with 4 beds. It was comfortable, with a mixed-gender shower room just down the hall (heads up if you're uncomfortable with mixed-gender showering). The kitchen facilities, reading room, everything seemed very comfortable and clean, though we didn't use them. The gal who checked us in wasn't particularly friendly or welcoming; however, she did her job pleasantly, if a bit disinterested. The only drawback is that we are not at all used to traffic noise and this hostel is right on the roundabout intersection of two major roads and there was traffic noise ALL night long... no escaping it from our room; however, there may have been rooms on the back side of the hostel that don't have that problem. It was so hot and muggy, and we had to have our window open or feel suffocated, so we dealt with the noise most of the night. When we finally shut the window, it didn't really reduce the noise much, anyway. Overall - it's a great place to stay if you can deal with traffic noise and mixed gender shower facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jnutraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your email and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in your 'huge private room'. We are situated in the centre of a busy town so we cannot help the traffic situation especially during peak times. Perhaps a b&b outside the town might have suited better, but we appreciate your comments.
Kindest Regards,
Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
22.0 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.2 km away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
0.2 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
998 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
687 reviews
0.8 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Failte Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Failte Hostel

Address: Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range: €38 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded 'The Best IHH Town Hostel in Ireland, & Fáilte Ireland approved since 1986, Kenmare Fáilte Hostel is family-run and 'A Home from Home', situated in the centre of Kenmare town - across from the Post Office on the corner of Shelbourne Street. We provide private rooms en-suite as well as dormitory rooms for a very reasonable price. There is a fully equipped self-catering Kitchen with Aga Cooker which is always on creating a very welcoming atmosphere, where you can cook - have a cup of 'free' tea or coffee, and have an interesting chat with the hostel team & other guests...and if that doesn't interest you - there is a sitting-room and dining room with many reading material to choose from, along with board games, and 'free to air' satellite stations. There is FREE wifi provided in public areas downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Kenmare Failte Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing