We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$253
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardmore House B&B(Kenmare)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$143
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$638
US$514
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
64
31
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
31
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfriendly family runbudget accommodationpublic lothiking tripsitting roomwould stay here againcommon roomexcellent facilitiesstayed here for two nightscentre of townother guestsdormensuiteshowerpubskerry
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Fáilte recently as part of a small cycling group and were really pleased.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable with plenty of hooks for hanging clothes, something other hostels lack. The kitchen facilites are superb and the Aga is always on so even on a miserable wet day the whole place is cosy. And clean, the bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen are all so spotless. There are bike racks outside. If you don't want to cook-in then all the restaurants and cafés and pubs of Kenmare are on your doorstep. And the staff is always friendly and helpful. Having the owners on site rather than a warden makes a huge difference. Kenmare is a great spot for cycing, hillwalking for just a weekend away, and the Fáilte is definitely the place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ester2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest Regards, Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have mountain-biked over 2,000 miles in Ireland staying in numerous hostels and campgrounds. The Failte Hostel in Kenmare is my absolute favorite. The location is excellent. The rooms are large, airy, clean, and have the best beds. The bathrooms are spotless and the WiFi access is free with a good signal. The staff are very friendly and helpful as well. There are several bike racks in the rear to securely store your ride and a bicycle shop right across the street if you need some work done. This hostel is easily my #1 recommendation in Ireland.

Room Tip: Book in advance, especially for the weekends!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregary_Stalnaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Wow! It's comments like these that make it worthwhile...thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest Regards, Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed for two nights with a group of friends from Limerick to walk in Gleninchaquin Park. The accommodation is warm,spotlessly clean and very spacious. We got a lovely warm welcome to the Kingdom from the owners! The hostel is a perfect location for Kenmare's cafes, tea shops, art galleries, pubs and restaurants. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Indiemarywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you will visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you again! Kindest Regards, Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This independent hostel in Kenmare town is clean, organised, homely and spacious - all in one. The owner is friendly and welcoming. I especially liked the different eating areas so that we were not intruding on other guests when we ate our fish and chips, noisily, after a lovely day's cycling. The hostel has bike parking, albeit uncovered and the other facilities leave nothing to be desired.

We had a four-person room and it was very spacious - most hostels would have fitted four more beds in that room.

Room Tip: As well as dorms there is a range of private rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernadette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us...thanks again, Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here while doing a cycle around the Ring of Kerry and could not have been happier with my choice while in Kenmare. The hostel is spotlessly clean, there are 2 kitchen/dining areas one containing an old Aga range that made it so cosy. The sitting room is full of character. I got the warmest of welcomes and later Aoife even offered to share her own evening meal with me. I stayed in a dorm room for €18 for the night, the bed was very comfortable and had a nice warm duvet. Overall, a great experience at Failte Hostel and I will definately be back.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank GJKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews