We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenmare Failte Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This independent hostel in Kenmare town is clean, organised, homely and spacious - all in one. The owner is friendly and welcoming. I especially liked the different eating areas so that we were not intruding on other guests when we ate our fish and chips, noisily, after a lovely day's cycling. The hostel has bike parking, albeit uncovered and the other facilities leave nothing to be desired.

We had a four-person room and it was very spacious - most hostels would have fitted four more beds in that room.

Room Tip: As well as dorms there is a range of private rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernadette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us...thanks again, Aoife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here while doing a cycle around the Ring of Kerry and could not have been happier with my choice while in Kenmare. The hostel is spotlessly clean, there are 2 kitchen/dining areas one containing an old Aga range that made it so cosy. The sitting room is full of character. I got the warmest of welcomes and later Aoife even offered to share her own evening meal with me. I stayed in a dorm room for €18 for the night, the bed was very comfortable and had a nice warm duvet. Overall, a great experience at Failte Hostel and I will definately be back.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank GJKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was one of the cleanest hostels I have ever stayed in. The kitchen was really nice and well stocked and I felt at home instantly. It was the perfect place to stay for a few days and enjoy the surrounding countryside. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: My room was over looking downtown Kenmare. Since the town isn't huge this wasn't an issue a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kshearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us...it's comments like these that make it worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

There were around 15 of us (university students) who visited, and they were incredibly accommodating here and made us feel very welcome to Kenmare. They gave us some great tips on where to go and made sure that we felt at home. The hostel itself is located in a perfect spot, right on a corner of one of the main streets in Kenmare, and it has a really cozy feel, with a kitchen and a living room with a fireplace. Everything was very clean and classy, and we had an amazing stay here. HIGHLY recommended - stay here if you have the chance!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBrahier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us...we look forward to welcoming you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed at this hostel with UCC Choral Society and my choir from 30th November to 2nd December 2012. We found this hostel to be affordable, clean and the staff were freindly and accessible. The facilities, such as the kitchen were perfect for our needs. The rooms are beautiful, rustic and traditionally Irish. The hostel also has a great location as we were situated in the middle of the town. I would definitely reccommend this hostel to anybody who wants to stay in Kenmare.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate-healy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us...we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
22.0 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.2 km away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
0.2 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
997 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
687 reviews
0.8 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Failte Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Failte Hostel

Address: Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range: €38 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded 'The Best IHH Town Hostel in Ireland, & Fáilte Ireland approved since 1986, Kenmare Fáilte Hostel is family-run and 'A Home from Home', situated in the centre of Kenmare town - across from the Post Office on the corner of Shelbourne Street. We provide private rooms en-suite as well as dormitory rooms for a very reasonable price. There is a fully equipped self-catering Kitchen with Aga Cooker which is always on creating a very welcoming atmosphere, where you can cook - have a cup of 'free' tea or coffee, and have an interesting chat with the hostel team & other guests...and if that doesn't interest you - there is a sitting-room and dining room with many reading material to choose from, along with board games, and 'free to air' satellite stations. There is FREE wifi provided in public areas downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Kenmare Failte Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing