We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
65
31
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
31
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location friendly family run budget accommodation public lot hiking trip sitting room big kitchen would stay here again common room excellent facilities cup of tea double bed stayed here for two nights centre of town other guests live music dorm
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is a very friendly family run hostel, we found all the staff very helpful and friendly. The kitchen had excellent facilities. The rooms were clean, and provided good value for money. would definitely recommend this hostel. The hostel is on the corner of the main street, perfect for shops and restaurants, and only a few minutes walk down to the jetty/sea.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallHelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Kenmare Failte Hostel-we do pride ourselves in our family-run business and have had the Hostel since 1986...comments like this make our hard work worthwhile...Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We've been there last week with a Scout group without reservation and have been welcome extremly warm. We got every help we need in a case of illness and are highly exalted about staying in this hostel. Compared with outher hostels in Ireland a first class hostel.
Thanks a lot for all we expirienced while beeing in your hostel. Your kindness, fexibility and support are commendable
Your german Scout group

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernst M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Owner at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay...we enjoyed having you also! Hope you got back safe & sound and your foot is better...Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Great hostess, a great place to stay, and affordable too! Close to town and park. Maureen was fantastic and a helpful source of information for exploring Kenmare. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Owner at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you very much and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay...thanks, Maureen & Aoife :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is my fourth time staying here. Kenmare is a great base for discovering the beara peninsula, walking the Kerry way or cycling. The hostel is very clean, its right beside the centre of the town but not too close that it gets very noisy.

Its one of the few hostels I’ve stayed in where I’ve managed to have a hot shower any time day or night. The kitchen is big and spacious, I didn’t really make much use of it as I preferred to try out the local restaurants and cafes as there are lots to choose from in Kenmare.

I usually book a private room and it works out fine, however the the one I stayed in this time was a bit on the small side, it had a washbasin and a set of drawers which wasn’t alot to store ones clothes especially when there were two people using the room.
Overall I enjoyed the stay in this hostel as you pretty much come and go as you please, and its all very relaxing. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. The hostel gets a wide mix of guests staying from young and old to families. Its wise to book ahead as it seems to get booked up on weekends.

Its good if you don't want to spend a lot of money on accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Owner at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have returned on 4 occasions!
We do have hooks provided also so you can hang your clothes, however, if you mention this to us the next time you book- we will do our best to accommodate you with more hanging,cupboard space.
Thanks, Aoife & Maureen :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was my third year staying at Failte Hostel and each year it gets better and better. The location is perfect, being right in the centre. Parking is easy nearby. My friends stayed in twin rooms and I stayed in a 4 bed dorm. We were all well pleased with our sleeping arrangements. Failte Hostel is so warm, friendly, clean and inviting. The kitchen facilities are fantastic and we love the Aga range creating such a homely atmosphere. Thanks to Aoife for looking after us so well and we will certainly be back. I recommend this hostel to every person who likes a good welcome, nice surroundings and a safe and comfortable environment. Oh, and it's very reasonably priced!

Room Tip: If you're a woman on your own, there are two female, 4 bed dorms and these are spacious, bright and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeshyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Owner at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely comments...we are delighted you had a lovely stay...comments like these make our work here worthwhile! We look forward to welcoming you again :-)
Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews