We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenmare Failte Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is my fourth time staying here. Kenmare is a great base for discovering the beara peninsula, walking the Kerry way or cycling. The hostel is very clean, its right beside the centre of the town but not too close that it gets very noisy.

Its one of the few hostels I’ve stayed in where I’ve managed to have a hot shower any time day or night. The kitchen is big and spacious, I didn’t really make much use of it as I preferred to try out the local restaurants and cafes as there are lots to choose from in Kenmare.

I usually book a private room and it works out fine, however the the one I stayed in this time was a bit on the small side, it had a washbasin and a set of drawers which wasn’t alot to store ones clothes especially when there were two people using the room.
Overall I enjoyed the stay in this hostel as you pretty much come and go as you please, and its all very relaxing. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. The hostel gets a wide mix of guests staying from young and old to families. Its wise to book ahead as it seems to get booked up on weekends.

Its good if you don't want to spend a lot of money on accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Owner at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have returned on 4 occasions!
We do have hooks provided also so you can hang your clothes, however, if you mention this to us the next time you book- we will do our best to accommodate you with more hanging,cupboard space.
Thanks, Aoife & Maureen :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was my third year staying at Failte Hostel and each year it gets better and better. The location is perfect, being right in the centre. Parking is easy nearby. My friends stayed in twin rooms and I stayed in a 4 bed dorm. We were all well pleased with our sleeping arrangements. Failte Hostel is so warm, friendly, clean and inviting. The kitchen facilities are fantastic and we love the Aga range creating such a homely atmosphere. Thanks to Aoife for looking after us so well and we will certainly be back. I recommend this hostel to every person who likes a good welcome, nice surroundings and a safe and comfortable environment. Oh, and it's very reasonably priced!

Room Tip: If you're a woman on your own, there are two female, 4 bed dorms and these are spacious, bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeshyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Owner at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely comments...we are delighted you had a lovely stay...comments like these make our work here worthwhile! We look forward to welcoming you again :-)
Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We just returned after spending two fantastic nights in the Kenmare. We stayed at the Kenmare Fáilte hostel. This lovely hostel is situated in the heart of the beautiful picturesque town Kenmare. After being greeted by the warm and welcoming staff we were shown to our very comfortable and warm ensuite room. The hostel offers free wifi (a real bonus) and there is also a kitchen where one can cook on the aga cooker. One can relax and have a chat and a cuppa ( tea and coffee are supplied free of charge ) with other guest in the hostel. I am looking forward to returning to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fidoLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments...we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us...thanks, Aoife & Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed at Failte for a week and found it very friendly, welcoming and well cared for. I really liked the kitchen, complete with Aga for those damp Irish mornings, and the sitting room with its traditional furnishings and view down the main street. It felt like home for a week, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely comments...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us...Aoife & Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

It was rather like staying at a vicarage. I parked my bicycle around the back and was met in the kitchen by the staff who showed me around. There was an Aga cooker in the kitchen with two kitchen tables in the middle. Perfrect for communal eating. Living room was cosy and homely. I slept in one of the dorms and the beds were good and the room a nice size. The staff were chatty and pleasant. As I was travelling alone an added bonus was the great company I met that night! Slightly hungover the following morning there was no push to get me out on time. A nice experience!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Kenmare Failte Hostel. We received an award recently for the best IHH town hostel in Ireland 2011 so of course we're delighted! We hope to welcome you again in 2012.
Aoife & Maureen Finnegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
22.0 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.2 km away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
0.2 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
997 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
687 reviews
0.8 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Failte Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Failte Hostel

Address: Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range: €38 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded 'The Best IHH Town Hostel in Ireland, & Fáilte Ireland approved since 1986, Kenmare Fáilte Hostel is family-run and 'A Home from Home', situated in the centre of Kenmare town - across from the Post Office on the corner of Shelbourne Street. We provide private rooms en-suite as well as dormitory rooms for a very reasonable price. There is a fully equipped self-catering Kitchen with Aga Cooker which is always on creating a very welcoming atmosphere, where you can cook - have a cup of 'free' tea or coffee, and have an interesting chat with the hostel team & other guests...and if that doesn't interest you - there is a sitting-room and dining room with many reading material to choose from, along with board games, and 'free to air' satellite stations. There is FREE wifi provided in public areas downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Kenmare Failte Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing