We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Kenmare”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorn House
Ranked #11 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Hawthorne House is located right at the top of the hill in Kenmare and is easy walking distance to all of the local restaurants. The rooms were large, recently remodled and very quiet. Great breakfast! There is plenty of on-site parking. Besgt of all, the innkeeper is really great and very helpful. I would stay here again if I was to visit Kenmare.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank pwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 186 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

After reading the reviews, I'm sorry I didn't get to meet Mary! We came in fairly late and base on Rick Steves book, tried the Hawthorne House. We were greeted pleasantly, the room was a nice size, clean and we had a very peaceful night in a comfy bed. The breakfast was very good and I think probably the best cup of coffee I had in our two weeks in Ireland. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoulsboScotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

A wonderful home run by a wonderful woman. Mary made us feel at home immediately. The room was warm and very clean. Breakfast was excellent. It is downtown with easy access to (and more importantly easy return from) the restaurants, pubs and shops. We would definitely return to Hawthorn House again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I agree with previous reviews; this is a very good BandB
Great rooms with lots of space and good shower, Loverly hosts (all our children gave her a big hug when we left after two nights), good breakfast with plunger coffee. Car parking out the back. Walk easily to lots of lovely pubs for dinner.
Cant do better than this.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

When we arrived in Kenmare it was the first (and only) time the B&B we selected was fully booked. But the lady there gave us the address of Hawthorn House. And we didn´t regret it. Mary, the landlady of Hawthorn House, is extraordinary friendly. The rooms are tidy, big enough and free WiFi is available. The breakfast was really fantastic. Hawthorn House is located in the centre of Kenmare so you can reach everything by walking. We really enjoyed our visit there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.9 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
669 reviews
0.9 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.2 km away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
0.1 km away
Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: Hawthorn House Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: €98 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing