We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place with great views across the way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm

Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm
Ranked #1 of 50 things to do in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place with great views across the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

This is a nice stop to get some great photos and a coffee. I'm not sure if there is food here, we just wanted coffee and pictures. There is an old truck out front that looks like it probably still runs. there are druid statues carved from wood. Across the street is a place to get nice pictures of a valley.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    112
    18
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2016

We stumbled across this attraction by accident, it has a good shop to purchase local gifts etc, and a small coffee shop attached to it, we stopped for coffee and found there was much more to see.
The visitor centre gives a flavour of life from times gone by, hard times. We all enjoyed the walk around the site, a video presentation before your visit setts the scene.
Welcoming and informative staff ,make this worth the time to stop and view the exhibits, take a coffee and maybe do a little gift shopping.
We will return should we be passing the area again.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry2085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2016

Enjoyed Irish night at Molly Gallivan's Cottage and had a wonderful evening! Great place to shop for Irish sweaters, throws and pottery!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank 4Family2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rural museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2016

A great little stop. Visitors are free to wander through the small farm area to visit the animals, see the reconstructed poitin still or simply admire the views. An informative video tells Molly Gallivan's story and sets the farm in historic perspective. The farm house contains a quality gift shop and basic tea room. The best part was there is no entry fee, just a donation box at the end. Friendly staff. The address is Bonane but the farm is some distance past the village.We came from the Kenmare direction and thought we had missed it. it is right on the main road so just keep driving.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What A Fun Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

What a treat to happen upon this delightful place. The couple who owns Molly's are charming and have done an amazing job of making sure the history of this little cottage will live on. We took the tour, bought a jacket and had tea with complimentary Poitin. One of our favorite memories of our trip.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing