We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm

Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm
Ranked #1 of 50 things to do in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2016

Enjoyed Irish night at Molly Gallivan's Cottage and had a wonderful evening! Great place to shop for Irish sweaters, throws and pottery!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank 4Family2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    112
    18
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rural museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2016

A great little stop. Visitors are free to wander through the small farm area to visit the animals, see the reconstructed poitin still or simply admire the views. An informative video tells Molly Gallivan's story and sets the farm in historic perspective. The farm house contains a quality gift shop and basic tea room. The best part was there is no entry fee, just a donation box at the end. Friendly staff. The address is Bonane but the farm is some distance past the village.We came from the Kenmare direction and thought we had missed it. it is right on the main road so just keep driving.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What A Fun Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

What a treat to happen upon this delightful place. The couple who owns Molly's are charming and have done an amazing job of making sure the history of this little cottage will live on. We took the tour, bought a jacket and had tea with complimentary Poitin. One of our favorite memories of our trip.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Put Molly Gallivan's on your priority list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016

What a fun and friendly cottage. The traditional Irish dinner and entertainment about an American Homecoming was great. We went back the next day and hiked the farm followed by delicious scones with coffee. Thanks

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Janis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Mollys is fantastic conception. I am sure it is as authentic a glimpse into the life of a widowed, poor Irish country woman of that era as you could find anywhere .
There is no specified charge required but a donation jar is to hand as you leave.
I would recommend a vist. Kids would like it as there are farmyard animals to see. Also a little tea room.
We were told by the curator that it is end of season in about a weeks time so probably best to visit up until end of October.
Great idea, long may it continue.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing