We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil, beautiful, peaceful”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Clonee Lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Clonee Lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colleen M
1 review
“Tranquil, beautiful, peaceful”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I stayed with my college roommate in this cottage back in 2010. It was absolutely perfect, the cottage had everything you would need, was clean and comfortable, and although we stayed in winter, the fireplace warmed the house perfectly. It was always clearly stated to us that the driveway was steep, and the cottage was "off the beaten path" so we were not surprised at all by the road, and similar to another reviewer, looked forward to the daily trek up and down. The views in the park were breathtaking, and we enjoyed every moment in this cottage. I will always fondly remember my first stay in Ireland in this gorgeous cottage, and would love to stay again some day!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect mountain hideaway with stunning views.”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We chose this property, as we wanted something 'out of the way' and 'isolated' on the Beara Peninsula and this is about as isolated as you can get. If you are an adventurous sort of person, then this is the cottage for you, owing to it's location next to the Beara Way. If you require local facilities on your doorstep, then forget it, as it's about 30min drive to Kenmare. The driveway to the cottage begins next the Uragh Stone Circle and is about 3/4 mile long and an adventurous climb on its on accord; which we all thoroughly enjoyed doing everyday. However, if you're not that confident a driver, then again, forget it, as the driveway is VERY steep in places, alternating between grass track and occasional concrete and an ordinary car would find the going very difficult; it's more suited to an SUV/MPV. The cottage itself has been lovingly restored and refurbished, with all mod-cons and, although spacious downstairs, has that cosy-cottage feel about it. Upstairs, there is one double room with an en-suite shower room and another room with double and single bed and the exposed stone walls give it a barn-like quality. The beds, however, are very firm and to us 'soft' Southerner's (West Sussex, England) were unforgiving and made for some restless sleep's. Yet, this did not detract from our stay and, the fact that the cottage has amazing views across to the Uragh Stone Circle and across Lake Inchiquin to the Gleninchaquin Falls, more than makes up for it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hard Matresses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BieneB
Noepe
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in March 2014

Yes, this house is isolated, but that was quite clear, and exactly what I was looking for. The road to the house is steep in places, but the worst sections are paved and the rest is well kept. Made it up and down w/no problems in a tiny rental car. I find it hard to believe that upon arriving, anyone would want to leave (unless they thought there would be a McDonald's or a Starbuck's around every corner in Kerry).

The location is positively stunning with plenty of awesome walks right from the house. I also drove the Healy Pass to Cork, did the Ring of Kerry, and so on, but the highlights of my trip were times spent in that beautiful little valley.

The house itself was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I'm grateful to them for sharing such a wonderful place.

P.S. This may be the one time in Ireland I was glad for a day of rain - Gleninchiquin Falls at the head of the valley were amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of the place.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for our property. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon!

- Imagine Ireland
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_from...
Riverside, California
1 review
“Cottage too isolated”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The cottage has a great view but is pretty isolated with two miles of unkept single lane road that finishes with a very steep climb to the house. Takes 20 minutes to get to town. Because it was so out of the way we only stayed two of our planned five nights. Could get no money back and owner even complained that we didn't leave full electricity supplement for seven days of electricity even though we only stayed two days. Having enough hot water was a challenge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: road to the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2013
I WAS VERY SUPRISED TO SEE THIS REVIEW AS ITS OUR VERY FIRST NEGATIVE REVIEW IN 12 YEARS SINCE WE FIRST STARTED TO RENT THIS COTTAGE. THE HOLIDAYMAKER NEVER CONTACTED US ABOUT HIS PROBLEMS WITH THE COTTAGE UNTIL 5 DAYS AFTER HE LEFT .JUST WENT AND LEFT OUR COTTAGE UNATTENDED ,WE WERE NEVER TOLD TO COLLECT KEY ETC. REGARDING HIS MONEY BACK REGARDING THE PROPERTY ISOLATED AND A STEEP CLIMB HE SHOULD HAVE KNOWN THIS BEFORE HE CAME AS THIS IS ON HIS BOOKING CONFIRMATION.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing