We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2015

This such a beautiful place to relax with a lovely view over the pool and the rice paddies. We were lucky to be there when a team came to harvest the rice in traditional fashion. Our hosts were very welcoming and informative. The staff were quiet and unassuming but very attentive and made our stay wonderful. The food was amazing! It is also a terrific place to go walking to see the local communities at work, and to catch a tuktuk from the nearby intersection and visit Galle or any of the attractions nearby. The most magical times were early morning and late evening when the monkeys moved through the trees. I would love to think that this magical area remains unchanged. I fear it will not be so.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 April 2015

We stayed in the Gardenhouse for the last 3 days of a very full 3 week holiday to Southern Sri-lanka. We did not want to leave. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left we were treated with such care and consideration. The actual house, garden and pool were blissful, so very calming and settling. The food was the best we had found in Sri-lanka, healthy and delicious. We loved it!!!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We spent one week with our family for Christmas period. The stay was really wonderful. The staff is simply excellent, for cooking and housekeeping. They have solutions for all your requests and are a good advise. The place is in a nice village, but the beach is quickly reachable with tuk-tuk or bus. The place is exactly what is described on the website. The owners were really helpful for any request . The swimming pool is really beautiful, as well the garden . In a few words : "Thanks Jorgen for everything"...

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank frajysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Garden House was by far the best place we stayed whilst in Sri Lanka. The house is set a little inland from the coast (though still only a short ride from the beaches and about 15 minutes to Galle by tuktuk), and benefits greatly from the location. The garden is beautiful and the wildlife abundant (seeing five peacocks perched atop a palm tree was quite a sight).
We stayed in the garden room, which was just as it appeared in the photos - huge, spotless and beautifully decorated. The food was delicious, the people working there very kind and helpful, and the owners are a simply wonderful couple. If you are looking to stay in the area, but want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the coast (and to be honest, the increasing pollution and unregulated construction), then I highly recommend Garden House.

Room tip: All the rooms looked wonderful, but the garden room is separated from the main house, so if you are looking for more privacy, then that would be my recommendation.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiger2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Garden House is a very personal almost private experience with a very high degree of service and tranquility. The area offers numerous activity options such as swimming, walking, biking and mountainbiking, walkingtours, boardsurfing, bird watching and wonderfull food.
We enjoyed being in the very calm environment and yet very close to the beautiful historic city Galle and minutes form beautiful beaches and small vlllages.
We experienced an outstanding openness and kindness from the local people. We felt safe at all times and all places.
The hosts and the staff of The Garden House were very supportive and kind and they were our direct source to numerous unforgettable experiences.
We will advice any of our friends with a sense of beauty and quality to spend time at the Garden House
Nian and Soeren

Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank NinaS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews