We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
Nearby Hotels
Coconut Tree Hulhuvilla Beach(Hulhumale)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Planktons Beach(Hulhumale)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Point Inn(Hulhumale)
US$100
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fern Boquete Inn(Hulhumale)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$570
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Vilu Rest Hotel(Hulhumale)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$246
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurumba Maldives(Vihamanafushi)
US$326
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (2,682)
Filter reviews
2,682 results
Traveller rating
1,665
724
176
73
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,665
724
176
73
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater suitesbeach bungalowsunset barour waiterdolphin safarifishour honeymooncrabwater shoessuperior roomthree barscurriessalad barroom boylagoon sideoverwater suitemini bar
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 2,682 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We travelled with Thomas Cook. Although there was not a Thomas Cook representative at the airport the wait for the speedboat transfer although longer than the 20 minutes advertised, was very efficient once it arrived and a fun experience.
The Island is beautiful.The staff are helpful and friendly I will try not to repeat what has already been said and mention what will help anyone considering a stay here.
I believe that your opinion on the accommodation will depend on which category you have opted for. We booked a water bungalow and stayed on the ocean side. If like me you would enjoy listening to the constant roar of the ocean this is the one for you. The decking area is completely private and not overlooked by anyone (apart from the odd passing boat). Both bedroom/living space and bathroom are large. We could not have wanted anymore. The beach bungalows varied, Some were directly on the beach but be ware this is a thoroughfare when people are walking the island so not as private. Others are further back and probably classed as garden bungalows. If you prefer to use the pool then a beach bungalow will probably be for you. From comments made by other holiday markers the beach bungalows differed in the state of repair.The over water suites are very spacious and newly refurbished. However they are overlooked by the neighbouring island. There is a private pool, bar and restaurant for the suites which looked very nice.
Your restaurant is allocated depending on where you are staying. I can only comment on the restaurant for the water bungalows. Your table is allocated for your whole stay and you have the same waiter. All the staff involved in the restaurant were wonderful. This restaurant is also used by the surfers. The groups of surfers can be large and you have to hold your own as they all want their tables to overlook the sea/surfers and will move tables if they can get away with it. We enjoyed taking our time over lunch watching the surfers.
They say there are three bars but if you are not in the water suites you only have the use of two,the surfers bar and the sunset bar, both are very good.
The trips which you can book at the receotion are all very good and well organised.
Water shoes are esential if you wish to go in the sea.
It is extremely hot. We used more suntan lotion than we normally would during the same time span. I saw some extremely painful sun burn on others who were not careful.
Something you need to be aware of. Firstly if you arrive during the morning your room will not be available until 2pm so pack swimwear and suntan lotion which will be easily accessible so you can enjoy yourself while you wait. Also the island seem to overbook the rooms. We spoke to numerous couples who on arrival could not stay in the catergory of accomodation they had paid for. They were given one of the less favourable bungalows and compensated by an upgrade when one was available or upgraded to premier all inclusive for their drinks. They also shipped people to their sister island, marketing it as a great oppotunity to see another island. I spoke to two couples this had happened to and both felt the sister island was not as good and couldn't wait to return. Anyone that complained about anything were compensated with upgrades etc. It began to feel like we were the only people that had actually paid for what we got. The check out time on day of departure is 12pm. We asked simply to be allowed to keep our bungalow for and extra two hours as we had a later flight but were told we could only keep it if we paid $110. If they needed the bungalow I could have accepted that but it would have been available if we had paid $110. I did speak about this at the reception but was just given lip service. A disappointing end.
On a positive note I must mention the following staff who are a credit and made our holiday: Anura is a charming gentleman who supervises the water bungalows. Wisam who kept our room so well. Zafeer our waiter who worked tirelessly. Manik who looked after us at the surf bar. Sneeha who worked both the sunset and surf bar, always with a smile and would always have time to help with any information we needed.
My husband did a dive. Francis the dive instuctor was very professional and organised a great dive.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank valashby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We have just spent an amazing week here. The place is absolutely gorgeous. The staff are all so polite and helpful. The only down side out of the whole week was our waiter in our restaurant. As soon as we arrived he seemed to disappear. It became a standing joke between the tables he served that we would order drinks for each other as it took so long for him to come back round!

This aside we are already thinking of coming back. The over water bungalows are beautiful.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are lovely
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vicjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon Dhonve... G, Guest Relation Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you very much for the time taken sharing your "wedding anniversary teat" experience with us on TripAdvisor. It gives us pleasure to learn that you truly enjoyed your recent stay with us in one of our over water bungalows. However, disappointed to hear of the service shortfalls during your stay, which is not typical of the standards that our team always strives to deliver. Our team wish to extend their sincere apologies and have taken your feedback on board to review our processes and ensure a more consistent service delivery on your return.

We hope that you will return to stay with us should your travel brings you back to the Maldives and we continue to be at your great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

It was a nice island. The water is so clear and turquoise. They have complete facilities. The restaurants - buffet really served good and international food. Filipino staffs serving in the restaurants are very polite, move fast and very accommodating, even on the receptions area. Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon Dhonve... G, Guest Relation Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor! We are indeed overjoyed to know that you had a wonderful time during your stay and appreciated the island grounds, facilities, food offering and our service. Your kind words are more than enough for the team to get inspired and work harder to provide the best service quality that every guest is looking for. Rest assured that your encouraging comments will be shared to everybody.

It was a pleasure having you with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to provide an even better stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent the most wonderful 10 nights at an overwater suite at Cinnamon Dhonvelli.
Where do I start? The place is out of this world. No picture or video can do it justice.
The suite is fantastic, spacious and we got the sun all the way from 10am until the end of the day and were able to watch the most fantastic sunsets. The room is cleaned twice a day and I would like to say a big thank you to the lovely man who cleaned our room every day.
The food is amazing, changes daily and it was the best food we've ever had at an all inclusive hotel. I would also like to say that everywhere in the hotel is spotless, never once did I see anything out of place.
As much as the whole hotel is nice, we would only go back to the water suites as the restaurant, bar and pool area were all so lovely as well as the suite itself being so fantastic.
We went on the dolphin trip and turtle snorkelling; both trips were fantastic and I would recommend them both.
The crab racing on a Thursday night is great entertainment and well worth a visit to the other side of the hotel to watch it.
Keep an eye out for when they do the shark feeding, its fantastic to watch.
I could go on and on for hours about the wonderful facilities that this hotel provides but many other reviews have already covered this.
Definitely take reef shoes as well as a snorkel and mask as they are needed. You can rent them at the dive shop, but they are a lot cheaper to buy before you go.
One last tip - beware of the tropical breeze drinks - they are very tasty and look like lilt but this can result in a nasty hangover when you have too many as a few of us discovered!! Haha!
I read on many reviews that guests return year after year and I can definitely see why.
Now - to the true heroes of this resort - the staff. Never have I experienced such wonderful staff who care so much about their guests.
I wish I knew the names of everyone but just because I don't mention every persons name doesn't mean they are any less deserving of recognition.
Zea and Patrice look after the over water suites guests and they are lovely girls. Always know you by name and come around regularly to check everything is good.
Sauliman is the restaurant manager and he introduced himself from day one and was so friendly throughout our whole stay. We had a marquee dinner on the beach and Sauliman took care of us and provided a fantastic service.
Thaqiyyu was our waiter and took such great care of us. He is an absolute star and made time to chat to us, learnt the drinks we liked and was amazing. This man has a smile on his face 24/7 and is always so happy to see you. He was the best waiter we have ever had and we miss chatting to him during every meal.
Kasun and Naseem who work at the bar - great lads, always smiling and serve great drinks!
Khair is the chef on the pasta station and is so friendly and makes amazing food. His carbonara is delicious.
Sattar - lovely jubbly! what a wonderful man. I can see why he gets mentioned so often on trip advisor - he cares so much for his guests and does a fantastic job. He will often make lovely flower necklaces to wear for dinner, such a lovely touch.
I miss them all loads and they really did make our holiday.
Last but not least the club 18-30 crew who we met there. Cath, Dave, Rachael, Dave, Lynda, Dennis, Louise and Peter - you are a fab people and we had an absolute blast with you all. #betty!
Would we return? In a heartbeat! Thank you Cinnamon Dhonvelli - you have given us memories that last a lifetime and we miss you all lots.
Lots of love Nikki and Simon xxx

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Nikki_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon Dhonve... G, Guest Relation Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Nikki and Simon,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you for choosing Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives and for taking the time out to share the experiences you've enjoyed the most on TripAdvisor.

We are exceptionally delighted that you had a wonderful experience from start to finish and truly impressed with the over water suite accommodation, resort ground, excursion trips, culinary offerings, the services provided and our teams hospitality. Indeed, our notable ambassadors and their services is the key in creating a memorable stay and we are happy to hear that they went beyond your expectations and ensured you had a memorable stay. Your compliments comes as a great motivator in our quest for excellence, certainly this will be shared to the entire team.

Once again, thank you so much for spending your 10 nights with us. We definitely look forward to have you back for many more remarkable moments to cherish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Where to start ..... cinnamon dhonveli is pure luxury from the over water suites to the fantastic food and amazing staff they really can’t do enough for you, we’ve had the most amazing time and met the most fabulous people, we can’t recommend this place highly enough,if you choose to holiday at cinnamon dhonveli you will have a holiday of a lifetime and definitely not be disappointed #bestholidayever ☀️

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 11Rach1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon Dhonve... G, Guest Relation Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful review on TripAdvisor. Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives team were delighted that you had the most amazing time with us and truly glad to hear that your experience was beyond expectations, and that you have thoroughly engage with everything along with the best attention from each of our team members.

Thank you so much for your high recommendation and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again for another remarkable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews