We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was tasty but poor customer service”
Review of Red Lion at Litton

Red Lion at Litton
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Litton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nestled on the village green in the picturesque village of Litton, the Red Lion at Litton is a traditional country inn. We offer quality homemade food from our kitchen headed by Ricky Adams our Head Chef. We are in the Good Beer Guide with 5 Cask Mark accredited real ales, usually local. We have two luxury en-suite rooms over the pub available for a minimum stay of 2 nights. We pride ourselves on always achieving 5* food hygiene. Come and see us!
Reviewed 26 October 2020

The food was very tasty however the customer service was very poor. The senior lady was very good however the other staff were not as approachable. The food took ages to arrive (1 hour 20 mins) and the vegetables for a Sunday lunch were minimal which lacked choice especially for the price we paid. However my roast pork was very tasty but the roast beef wasn't very hot. Some of the party had pie which was not adequate for £15 but again it was very tasty. It seemed to us the pub was short staffed as other customers left complaining of the waiting time for drinks but this wasnt brought to our attention. There were no apologise for the long wait. I normally put positive reviews on here however I felt I had to mention the above.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joannesL9608AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2020

After a long day at Chatsworth (which is stunning), my partner and I visited the Red Lion at Litton for dinner. This is a lovely little quaint old pub which has put all the correct Covid measures in place. The pub felt clean and safe.
Most of the staff were really helpful and talked us through their procedures and menu.
As we'd had lunch at Chatsworth we opted for just mains at the Red Lion. I chose a vegan curry of butternut squash with spinach and chickpeas, rice and thin chapati bread. This was really tasty, well presented and served hot. I really enjoyed it. My partner chose the Pork belly with red cabbage, saute potatoes, vegetables and cider gravy. It also had a big piece of pork crackling. The dish was delicious, I'm told. He particularly liked the red cabbage as it wasn't full of cloves and five spice but just reduced down in red wine. The dish was really well presented, the meat was tender and the crackling very crunchy. So much so that people on two other tables ordered it after seeing it and hearing the crackling crunch.
This is a proper old traditional pub and we would thoroughly recommend the food here.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nightboat2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

We visited for dinner. We booked in advance due to covid. The pub is well set up for social distancing with the staff wearing masks and thoroughly cleaning tables etc. We had the whitebait and soup to start which were both tasty. We had the steak and peak ale pie for the main course. The portion was generous and there was lots of meat. The gravy was particularly nice. The ale selection was quite good as well as the wine list. Staff were friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank Jane73586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020

We hoped for a moderately good meal in a reasonably safe environment but our expectations were exceeded. We were met as soon as we arrived at the front door of this delightful pub by a PPE clad waiter who immediately showed us to our reserved tav=ble. Drinks were quickly ordered and arrived - what great ale - Absolution - Do try it.

The food was excellent as was the service.

Tables were spaced far apart, al the staff wore PPE including gloves and the whole experience was a delight.

The only thing wrong wih the pub is its location -- 150 miles away from my home!!

Definitely worth more than one visit.

Many thanks

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank scottroy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2020

4 of us visited Saturday evening on August Bank Holiday weekend with our 3 dogs, although we could only be accommodated in the marquee outside the pub (due to last minute booking) we had a fabulous night. All the staff we spoke with were friendly and very welcoming even our dogs got a treat. We had garlic mushrooms and halloumi fries for a starter and they were lovely, very fresh and piping hot considering they had to be brought to us outside, for our main course we all had steak pie, chips and a side order of onion rings. The steak pie was delicious and packed with melt in your mouth steak accompanied by homemade chips and homemade onion rings. The steak pie was recommended to us and we were definitely not disappointed, unfortunately though it left us no room to sample a pudding! I can't wait for another visit just wished we lived a bit closer.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion at Litton also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Red Lion at Litton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.