We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Red Lion at Litton

Red Lion at Litton
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Litton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nestled on the village green in the picturesque village of Litton, the Red Lion at Litton is a traditional country inn. We offer quality homemade food from our kitchen headed by Ricky Adams our Head Chef. We are in the Good Beer Guide with 5 Cask Mark accredited real ales, usually local. We have two luxury en-suite rooms over the pub available for a minimum stay of 2 nights. We pride ourselves on always achieving 5* food hygiene. Come and see us!
Reviewed 10 September 2020

4 of us visited Saturday evening on August Bank Holiday weekend with our 3 dogs, although we could only be accommodated in the marquee outside the pub (due to last minute booking) we had a fabulous night. All the staff we spoke with were friendly and very welcoming even our dogs got a treat. We had garlic mushrooms and halloumi fries for a starter and they were lovely, very fresh and piping hot considering they had to be brought to us outside, for our main course we all had steak pie, chips and a side order of onion rings. The steak pie was delicious and packed with melt in your mouth steak accompanied by homemade chips and homemade onion rings. The steak pie was recommended to us and we were definitely not disappointed, unfortunately though it left us no room to sample a pudding! I can't wait for another visit just wished we lived a bit closer.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2020

This is is the only restaurant we've visited on this trip to really take social distancing seriously. The staff wore masks or visors and insisted we sanitise on arrival, they had track and trace, not just floor markings but used cordons to restrict access and flow, and even has us lift the full drinks off the tray so that the waitress did not need to touch the glasses. Excellent measures.

Good was good, my shepherd's pie very rich and tasty, although not huge. The wife's burger was a little disappointing, with no sauce or salad in it.

Parking was tricky. I could not see the right place to park, and halfway through a mouthful was asked (presumably by a neighbour) to move my car. Some signs to indicate parking would be welcome.

Great decor and atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2020

Lovely pub, very friendly service and excellent food, generous portions and reasonably priced. Stayed close by for a week and ate there 4 times!!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank graceann6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020

Four for dinner in marquee, friendly staff - food delicious, from vegetable curry, beef burger and Cajun chicken. More heaters arriving next week so will hopefully be toastier in the colder weather. Would thoroughly recommend

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Trip621468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2020 via mobile

Visited this place early evening for a meal during covid, good precautions and pretty well organised, the young lad who served us was polite and the food and drinks came out quickly, after a throat operation i have to be a bit careful about what i choose to eat, generally it has to be soft or with a sauce, so i ordered the slow cooked pork belly, normally i would expect soft and juicy..
It was like trying to chew my belt..not sure what they did with it in the kitchen but i struggled through about half of it and could manage no more..real shame because wifes food was as expected, reasonable portions and prices and service was good..just dont choose the belly pork unless you have steak knives for teeth..

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank johnnythai52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion at Litton also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Red Lion at Litton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.