We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Gluten Free Breakfast!”

Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sudbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 15 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 January 2016

This weekend was the second time I've stayed at Oak Lodge. Anne and Clive are perfect hosts. Not only is the accommodation clean and comfortable, the breakfast is fantastic. Being gluten intolerant. Instead of biscuits on my arrival, I had homemade mazipan chocolates. At Breakfast sausages made on the farm were substituted for GF beefburger, also made on the farm. Not being able to eat bread or cereal, there was sauté potatoes, with the cooked breakfast and fresh fruit salad and yogurt to start. (The burgers were so good I bought a dozen to take home!)
There's a great traditional local pub a couple of miles down the road that does great pub fair, all homemade and locally sourced, at excellent prices.
I can highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2015

I have travelled the UK and Europe a lot in my time, mostly with Patch.
This is by far the nicest B&B I have ever stayed in.

Immediately on the telephone booking I felt welcomed and well looked after. Nice touch that Anne wanted to know both mine, my partner's and Patch's first names so she knew who to greet at the door.

The house is at the top of a single track lane, and in the winter dusk, it was a struggle for one of us to find (*hint - it wasn't me!) and the sign is quite small but so long as you have a sat nav or google maps, it's fine.

The welcome was warm and friendly, the house was cosy but not stuffy, and we were left to our own devices to settle and relax (after everyone had met Patch, obviously). We were asked roughly what time we fancied breakfast in the morning, which is always nice as you know it's going to be cooked to order rather than sitting in an oven for hours.

We explored the local villages that night and found some lovely pubs (recommended to us by Anne) and just relaxed really. She had allowed us to chill some bottles in the fridge for when we returned, and had left out some champagne flutes for us to use, which for a B&B is quite a rarity.

The bedroom is a standard size - nothing too big but certainly enough for you to relax in and manoeuvre - we had a big suitcase, dog bed, various shopping bags and shoes and we could still easily move around the room. There was a perfect sized wardrobe but we didn't need to use it.
There is tea and coffee in the room for you, along with some little treats - we had flapjacks one night and chocolates the other.

The bathroom is separate but is totally yours. It includes a shower with decent water pressure, toilet and hand basin. Everything you could want. The water was lovely and hot, and shower gel / shampoo etc was provided. The towels were lovely and fluffy and the toilet paper decent quality (sounds odd but makes such a difference!).

We woke up both mornings having rested and slept all the way through - considering I had a cold and probably snored like an elephant, the fact my partner slept all the way through is a real credit to the mattress! Proper duvet and very comfy pillows. I just happened to be on the floor playing with Patch and noticed the bed underneath. Now, I am not like the people off 'Four in a Bed', but that bed (and the rest) was sparkling clean and the whole bedroom and bathroom are clearly loved not just as a room for guests but as part of their home. I could go on and on really...

Each morning we were greeted by Anne and her husband, Clive, and Rose and Diesel, who are such lovely dogs! Rose even went to fetch the papers for us from the front door - better trained than my partner!
We sat at an oval table scattered with goodies; fresh fruit salad, made with fruit that actually tasted delicious - none of this water filled fruit you can sometimes get served. Cereal and yoghurt, jams and marmalade for toast - homemade toasted bread, I should add. And then came the hot breakfasts! My goodness were they good?! Home smoked bacon, homemade sausages, perfect proportion of meat to vegetables, the tomato even had a garnish of basil on, and the mushrooms were cooked whole with a drizzling of mixed herbs. Just totally fab. I am really not a huge breakfast person (honest!) but I could. not. resist. Tea was served in a warmed teapot, ketchup and other sauces were served in proper ramekins, delicious fresh orange juice, whilst all the time overlooking the garden and fields behind, listening to a lightly played radio in the background.
I really couldn't have done it better myself; it was like Anne knew exactly what we loved.

To top things off, Patch was allowed to run around in their own private garden, with Rose (Diesel had a poorly paw so had the cone of shame on) and was even given a chicken treat and some beef jerky as we left!

Just to add too - the cost is very fair, and I would not hesitate on recommending it to any friends or family who are going to the area.

We were there just sussing out the area with view to potentially buy a house there, and if our decision was based purely on our stay at Oak Lodge, I would move there tomorrow! To summarize, Anne and Clive are the perfect combination of impeccable hospitality and warm friendly hosts, and Oak Lodge is the place to be if you enjoy being cosy, relaxed and looked after by pros.

Tough gig to beat!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank PatchAndBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Stayed last weekend and I have to say could not fault, hosts were so welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. Location really beautiful and a nice walk through the wood behind the house. The room was spacious and spotless so warm and cosy. Private bathroom. Home made biscuits in the room. The breakfast was amazing, thank you Clive, so much choice and filled me up for the day. Loved the whole experience - a real must for anyone looking for a first class B&B - can't wait to go back.

Jane & Malcolm

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We stayed for one night whilst kayaking on the river stour. We were made most welcome by Anne and Clive they were perfect hosts. The accommodation was spotlessly clean with those little extras which makes a special stay, comfy bed, power shower, home made biscuits and a wide choice of teas and coffee. The breakfast was delicious, better than you would get from a five star hotel. Not only was a full english included but also fresh fruit (including strawberries & blueberries fresh from the garden), yoghurt, cereals, fresh fruit juice and tea and coffee. Nothing was too much trouble for Anne and Clive and we hope to visit again when we are kayaking in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Stayed two nights in the annexe and cannot speak highly enough of Oak Lodge. Very friendly welcome, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, Freeview and an excellent breakfast. All of the extras of a good 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask fore the annexe, slightly more than the standard room but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
5.1 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,185 reviews
6.3 km away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
137 reviews
11.9 km away
Bridge Street Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#11 of 15 in Sudbury
56 reviews
3.4 km away
The Case Restaurant with Rooms
5.9 km away
Bulmer Tye House
Bulmer Tye House
#14 of 15 in Sudbury
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Oak Lodge Upper Road | Little Cornard, Babergh District CO10 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing