We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base to explore Ripon”
other travellers have booked this property
Frontage to road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Frontage to road
Frontage Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Frontage to road
Frontage
Entrance
Lounge
ground floor double room
ground floor shower room
entrance hall
Exclusive Side Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ripon, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie M
1 review
“Perfect base to explore Ripon”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Excellent, well equipped cottage, close to all the amenities of Ripon. Sue W, the owner welcomed us and left a selection of goodies in the fridge to get our holiday off to a great start.
It is obvious that Matchbox cottage is maintained and cared for personally by the owner as the standard of cleanliness and equipment is first class.
Ample parking and a lovely garden for our own personal use. What more could we ask for?

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kate L
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Such a roomy and comfortable cottage!”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Matchbox Cottage! We stayed 4 nights, upon arriving in England from the U.S., and it was the perfect place to get over jet lag, organize our bags, and settle in to England. We enjoyed the quirky layout of the cottage and the large kitchen and living room, and since the days were chilly we appreciated the heat stove in the living room and the warmth of the house. The house is fully equipped with everything you could need for a stay, even including a clothes washer. The owners, who live in the adjacent building, provided a very useful welcome pack for breakfasts, and they were helpful and friendly but not intrusive.

The town itself is historically interesting and manageably sized, and is conveniently located for visiting York, the Yorkshire Dales and moors, and of course Fountains Abbey. The cottage is a short walk from all the shoos and historic spots in town.

Upon leaving, we told the owners that we only wished we could carry Matchbox Cottage with us to the other locations we were visiting on our three-week trip!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRoverT
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Matchbox is Matchless”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for 4 weeks and wish it could have been longer. This cottage is so well equipped and the owners so helpful and friendly. With every need met by stores within a short walk, lots of places to visit within easy driving distance (York, Harrogate, Whitby, Scarborough, Fountains Abbey, Richmond, Dales, etc etc.) and an abundance of fine restaurants locally, what more could you want? Are only complaint: too many Sweet Peas around the front door (see picture)!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Complete quality dishes etc
Liked least: Could have been better weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cosy cottage holiday”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Extremely well appointed, cosy cottage with ample parking, and within short walking distance of the city centre. We would be happy to stay there again.
However, I was put off using the washing machine because of the large amount of black mould on the gusset. Also we found the duvet to be very heavy but not very warm, and it was a bitterly cold week.
As yet we have not had our security deposit returned.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very impressed with the quality and quantity of cutlery, crockery, kitchen utensils and towels.
Liked least: State of the washing machine.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing