We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
135
15
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
15
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white lion steep hill one night matlock bath owners sue and john shower cap comfortable bed local pub next morning on arrival fantastic night heights of abraham b and b quality bedding smallest room tea and cake full english
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Absolutely lovely place to stay, the attention to detail is second to none. Fantastic view, wonderful hosts and great breakfast. Short walk down to Matlock, advisable to get a taxi back as it is a steep climb, especially after a few drinks!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank djc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Sue welcomed us warmly. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, with refreshments in the room. Clean, modern en-suite. The breakfast had plenty of choice, and we enjoyed the local produce. The access lane was steep and narrow, but worth it for the views across the valley.

Room Tip: Only three double en-suite rooms available, but well-equipped.(One is a suite).
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 707johnf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Well equipped room with quality bedding. We had the smallest room, which I was aware of and being a petite person it wasn't a problem for me to take the side of the bed with less access. The food and quantities are good. Unfortunately the mattress quality didn't match bedding quality, I could feel springs. For us the breakfast wasn't as we had expected from the reviews: sausages and egg are 'locally sourced' however, we found the eggs weren't tasty, as we have had from friends chickens and the sausages not meaty; as it was wet and cold you needed a warm jumper/fleece when in the dining room; you also need to be reasonable fit as the property is on a very steep road and the parking is just below or just above it. Sue was welcoming and pleasant.

Room Tip: The largest room is at the end of the corridor and also has a view over the valley.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Millie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

The Gables is situated near the top of a very steep lane, but is worth it for the amazing views. Clean, comfortable, friendly service & a delicious breakfast. Only stayed 1 night, would have liked longer as it's a handy location for exploring the area

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner came here for one night for a little christmas getaway. We arrived a little early than the check in time we phoned one of the owners who said we could check in earlier which was great as it was very cold! The owners wasnt there when we checked in and we didnt see one of then until we was going out in the evening he seemed friendly enough but would of been nice to be introduced and asked if we needed anything. We stayed in the dovedale quite small room but very clean and had modern bathroom,had selection of hot drinks and biscuits ,comfy bed..the breakfast was lovely different choices you can tell its good produce used and home cooked. The b&b is up a steep hill abit scary in the winter especially when its been snowing but i wasnt driving and it didnt bother my partner.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lauralovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews