We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a Family Holiday/Reunion”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Derwent House

The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Derwent House Grade II listed Georgian property circa 1753 The main guest lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Derwent House Grade II listed Georgian property circa 1753
The main guest lounge
Superbly equipped large kitchen with additional seating
Master bedroom, with views over Knowleston gardens
Victorial style bathroom, ideal for relaxing after a day walking in the Peak District
Double en-suite room
Twin, en-suite bedroom
Individually designed twin bedroom
The 'old kitchen'  dating from the 17th century. Another lounge room, ideal to sit and chat...
Peak District - a stunning location throughout the year
A view of Bakewell bridge
The River Derwent
Hall Leys Park next to Derwent House
A View of Derbyshire
A country walk followed by lunch at the Eyre Arms?
Ladybower Dam
A welcoming stay awaits
Breakfast in bed?
Ladybower Dam
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnkc201...
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Family Holiday/Reunion”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

A substantial period house only a five minute riverside walk from the centre of Matlock. The owners have thought of virtually everything to make your stay very comfortable.....the large kitchen is comprehensively equipped, a "snug" room, next to the kitchen with a sofa and comfortable chairs and two cupboards full of a wide selection of games, maps and books, is a great area for the kids to play. Four double & two twin-bedded rooms, of varying sizes to suit a large family or groups of friends, are nicely furnished with quality fittings and very comfortable beds. We stayed for 6 days just after Christmas and into the New Year, and a nice touch was the ground floor rooms had been decorated with a big Christmas tree and tasteful decorations.
Snow lay on the ground outside, and it was bitterly cold for three days but the house was wonderfully warm with a very efficient central heating system and plenty of hot water.
We loved the location in old Matlock, with great walks along the riverside and around the town, or up past the church onto High Tor overlooking Matlock and the surrounding Derbyshire countryside. Only one disappointment and frustration...the WiFi system was incredibly slow...even for basic internet surfing or emails.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Excellent, comprehensive facilities, close to Matlock Town
Liked least: Poor WiFi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spike495
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming Derwent House”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The house is absolutely charming and is perfect for a large group or family weekend. The fresh flowers in the downstairs reception rooms were beautiful and certainly added to the ambience of the property. Also an abundance of piping hot water was very much appreciated.

The location is excellent, quiet yet just a five minute stroll through the park into town. Matlock is also an ideal base for exploring Derbyshire. We actually bought tickets for Abraham Heights and Chatsworth from the owners which not only saved us money but made the entrance into both attractions much smoother. We walked straight from Derwent House to the cable car station for Abraham Heights which was a stunning walk with breathtaking views.

We would definitely recommend this property to any large groups. The owners are extremely attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Perfect - we look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House is excellent - full of character. Perfect location.
Liked least: Nothing here - it was all good
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rach23el
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Derwent House”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Derwent House is the perfect location for a gathering of extended family and easily takes twelve people. The house has everything you possibly need with lots of added extras from board games to a very well equipped kitchen we were delighted with our stay. The area is quiet and peaceful with a playground over the road which was excellent for the younger members of our family.
The owners are both kind and polite and willing help with any query.
A very memorable trip, highly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHYDE
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent home from home for our extended family holiday”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our extended family regularly holiday together.

Derwent House is the best equipped holiday home we have had to date, making our family dining as easy as being at home. The décor & personal touches with the beautiful fresh flowers helped us relax into our week away. The roses in the Dining Room were especially beautiful. The cool bags & freezer packs were great as we decided to have a picnic one day.

The location in Matlock was excellent. We enjoyed our ice cream from the Park on arrival & Dad enjoyed his walk to get the paper every morning.

Matlock is a perfect location for visiting the area, we didn’t realise just how close Chatsworth was.

We would definitely recommend this property to any large groups looking to enjoy the area. The care and attention to making you feel welcome was second to none.

Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail to make the holiday perfect
Liked least: Nothing worth mentioning.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jec01
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fantastic House in a great location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have had a great weekend staying in Derwent House celebrating our Silver Wedding. It is a beatifully presented Georgian House in a lovely location straight across the road from a lovely park.
The house has all the facilites you want for a self catering holiday with a very well equipped kitchen that allowed us to have lovely family meals in the well appointed dining room.
All the rooms were decorated to a high standard and there were beautiful fresh flowers throughout.
I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for great facilites in a good location. All too often Matlock is overlooked and we spent a great weekend exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the period features
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing