We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Hen Do Location!”

Review of Thornleigh

Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV. Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV.
Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Luxury hot tub in enclosed landscaped garden with wooden seating and cycle storage.
Downstairs bedroom with en suite
Large top floor bedroom with super king or 2 singles plus luxury en suite
Games room with sauna, pool/table tennis table/table football plus table top skittles
Double bedroom plus en suite
Roll top bath in family bathroom.
bedroom with 2 singles and period fireplace
Luxury hot tub
Hall Leys Park Matlock
Hall Leys Park band stand Matlock
Riber castle Matlock
Peak District dry stone wall
nosy Peak District sheep
Relax at Thornleigh after that walk
stepping stones
Peak District
Dry stone wall
Mam Tor ridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wedge10ra...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great if you're holding a mime workshop.”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Thornleigh for a friend's Hen Weekend and, as previous reviewers have stated, the house is beautiful. It's in a great location, close to the town and within easy distance of a number of lovely walks. The kitchen is superbly well equipped and we all found the beds to be very comfortable. The hot tub is a great feature too.

However, this is a property that is advertised as being ideal for a Hen parties and large groups, it does, after all, sleep 12-13 people. With this in mind, the restriction on noise & the way in which this is dealt with is inappropriate. We all totally respected that we were in a residential area (with the posters & warnings EVERYWHERE we could hardly forget) and genuinely do not feel that we were excessively loud. On the first evening at just gone midnight we had a visit from the neighbour to complain of the noise. There were 4 of us in the kitchen. We respectfully turned the music down & even offered our numbers in order to avoid him having to come back out. This was rather abruptly refused. It must be frustrating for the neighbour as I can only imagine this happens quite frequently, but it put a bit of a damper on the evening and the Hen was quite upset. With this in mind we decided to spend the 2nd evening in the lounge as this provided a bit more separation from next door. We literally had dinner and then went & played games. By 11pm the Hen had received an email & a voicemail telling us in no uncertain terms to turn it down and that this "wasn't what Thornleigh was about". Understandably, this impacted on our evening considerably and we literally ended up crowded into the downstairs bedroom whispering to each other! It was ridiculous and ruined our evening.

When they say no noise after 11 they really mean it, I just can't see how groups of 12-13, even families, can literally make no noise. If you sit in the large, sociable kitchen expect a visit or a telling off. We really weren't having an all night rave. We're all grown ups and we had pregnant women amongst our party who swore that we really weren't excessive. We were indoors by 1030/1100pm on both nights & music off by 1030pm on the 2nd night. All I can say is that the house, whilst lovely, is inappropriately advertised.

If you want to sit, talk, play board games or listen to some music after about 10pm...find somewhere else.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house & hot tub
Liked least: Ridiculous rules - 2 pages on recycling!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for the feedback. We have had many successful hen parties, reunions and family gatherings at Thornleigh over the last 7 years. This is reflected by the 18 5* reviews which precede this one. We do not feel that we are inappropriately advertising the property and the following paragraph is prominently placed on the booking page of our website:
"Please note that Thornleigh house is in a residential area with neighbours and is not suitable for bookings wishing to have late or all night parties."
A complaint from our neighbour is in fact rare.He indicated that this party were playing unacceptably loud music until 12.15am in both the garden and indoors, heard throughout every room in his house and repeated on both nights despite his requests. After 7 years of being fully booked with 70% hen parties, we have never requested guests to be silent but just to respect their environment within the centre of a residential area. The guests who followed this booking commented " Thornleigh triumphs again" in the guest book and were a repeat booking of a family gathering who we are sure socialised appropriately throughout the house and into the late evenings like most of our guests do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beccy153
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Hen Do Location!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Twelve Hens and one Bride to be arrived at Thornleigh House and were wowed by how lovely the house was. It is a beautiful house with so much space. We had a fantastically pampered weekend. We've never seen a rental house with such a well equipped kitchen. The Kitchen/dining room area was a great space and where we spent most of our time all gathered around the huge table. The hot tub was just a lovely luxury and the games room a lot of fun. The beds were so comfortable and the house was extremely clean. We couldn't have asked for more.
We also had a nice time walking around Matlock food festival and finding hidden gems in all of the antique shops. We had the perfect relaxing hen do for our bride.
We all said we'd definitely stay again and recommend to others. Thanks for letting us stay in your beautiful house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge kitchen/dinner and the hot tub.
Liked least: Parking was limited for such a big house due to 1 hour road limits but a car park isn't far away and a reasonable price
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo G
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stunning house in a stunning location - didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I booked Thornleigh for my hen do, as I was looking for something a little different to the usual city break. Matlock Bath is one of my favourite places to visit, and as we are only a 40 minute drive away, Matlock was an ideal choice to give a balance between the countryside and a town.
Thornleigh was an amazing find, and I felt blessed that it was available! Rachel and Mark answered any queries beforehand and Mark even gave me a heads up that there had been more enquiries for the same weekend - so I gave my hens a nudge and the decision was made.
We arrived a little early and I text to ask if we could store our chilled food which was no problem as the house was ready. Parking is limited (3 cars max) and a little tight if you are a nervy driver! But ample street parking was available just around the corner.
When I entered the house I was like a child at Christmas! It's just the sort of house I'd love to live in. Very spacious, tastefully decorated in keeping with the feel of the area. (Mark and Rachel, I love the drawers and the bird hanging in the living room!) 6 great sized bedrooms, which most can be split into singles or had as doubles. The beds were so very comfortable! The linen etc made you feel like a home away from home - one of the girls wanted to check out the matresses she liked them so much but forgot!
The hot tub and sauna are fantastic additions to really make the house a holiday home as opposed to a normal home away from home! A couple of games of pool were also enjoyed!
We had a lovely bbq on the Friday (take your coals), went to the farm park Saturday day and Vivas Saturday night (great food and 10% discount for staying at Thornleigh), and a few of us (that weren't too hungover) walked to Matlock Bath Sunday before a large roast cooked at the house!
Tips for travellers - don't pack your kitchen sink (like I did), there are hairdryers, irons, all kitchen utensils etc. Don't be too frightened about the welcome pack and booking terms - I was, but we enjoyed late nights up drinking - just be respectful (according to one of my hens, my late night rendition of 'like a virgin' was borderline in this respect). In the garden we kept the noise down, and did adhere to all hot tub 'rules'. Also, although there are quite a few reviews from hens, the property is also ideal for families - loads of toys and games etc for kids.
5* all round, I'm already trying to convince us to take our other halves back with us next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: The parking
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BE2314
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place to stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Thornleigh recently for a friends hen weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it.

There were 8 of us and we had plenty of space; there is easily enough room for 7 couples and most rooms have extra space for put up beds if needed. 4 out of 6 bedrooms had en suite facilities.

All of the bedrooms were spacious and nicely decorated, the beds were very comfy. The kitchen is fully equipped, all utensils provided and there is also a dishwasher.

The hot tub was enjoyed by us all; it is a large hot tub and the 8 of us fitted in comfortably.

The owners recommended spa treatments through 'my personal sanctuary'; we booked a therapist and the treatments were very good.

The house is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Matlock where there are plenty of restaurants, bars, boutique shops and antique shops. We also walked further down the road to Matlock Bath and the Heights of Abraham.

Matlock and Matlock Bath rail stations are both within walking distance.

There are plenty of activities locally for families. Equally it is a nice part of the country for a relaxing weekend away.

The only downside to Thornleigh is that the parking is very limited; there is room for two large cars or 3 small cars.

Would definitely recommend for family gatherings, special birthdays and occasions, group holidays.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a great location in Matlock”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here on a hen do and it was prefect. The house has everything you need and all the rooms are lovely. The lounge and dinning room/ kitchen are great spaces were you can easily sit 12+ people. There is a slight lack on parking but there are pay for car parks close by.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing