We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
108
43
8
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
43
8
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews completely fell in love cinema room hen do communal areas good size welcome pack dining table great weekend hot tub fires heating
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

If you like unique, genuine, olde world charm, with the most comfy facilities amid stunning countryside then this is the place to go. Stick to Premier inns if you prefer the mundane, sterile. Best 2 day Christmas break at Riber Stables. 20 of us including 4 kids and 1 dog. Rooms individually decorated - we had the most comfy 4 poster room with own bathroom and kitchen facilities, TV etc. Great for retiring to if you want a little nap after dinner. Enjoyed our Christmas dinner in the large communal kitchen which we had exclusive use of then spent some great family time in the adjoining lounge area with the comfort of a wood burning stove. Lovely walk down to the Gurkha Nepalese restaurant on boxing day. Food and service was superb. Whole break enjoyed equally by adults and children alike and would definitely recommend it for a romantic break for couples or groups of friends. Well organised and owners very accommodating, obviously it helps to let them know your requirements in advance particularly if a big group re room arrangements etc. Would imagine a summer break to be lovely as there is also a huge garden to make use of. We are already planning our next trip!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank LiverpoolWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Riber Hall over Christmas period. Beautifully decorated. Elegant Four poster Georgian bed, very comfortable. Bathroom's were immaculate and room had two radiators, always warm.

The living area and kitchen is a perfect place to relax and has plenty of space for a large group of people, this area also has its own large lawned area.

Would stay here again. Highly recommended

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

A large family of us stayed for three
Days for Christmas what a great place to stay beautiful rooms with the most comfortable bed slept like a log after dinner you can have a lovely walk and see the countrysid, can't wait for next year we all
Enjoyed a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We hired all 10 of the really interesting Riber Hall Stables rooms - all of which have their own features (mostly with four poster beds), ensuite bathroom and well equipped kitchenette.

We also had exclusive access to the kitchen and dining room, lounge/conservatory and gardens.

For a large mixed group (11 adults and 6 kids of various ages) it worked perfectly. The kitchen/diner allowed us to prepare and serve food while catching up. The lounge let the kids chat/play/dance and watch TV. It was also great to sit outside in the lovely garden.

The kitchen was incredibly kitted out - with pretty much everything that you could ever need!

The Tennis court needs a bit of work - but the kids still loved it!

If you have a large group of people who you need to accommodate and feed - look no further. This is the place to come. Great facility, lovely quiet location, great surroundings. Just the job!

Room Tip: Room 10 is the best room
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Thank RobinB1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We have stayed at Riber Hall Aparthotel before, and found it charmingly in a Qwerky way. We rather liked the do it yourself qualities of the place, the lack of personal service, the total lack of personnel altogether . We forgave the slight shabbiness, the faded grandeur, because there were little touches that suggested we as guests were valued, fresh flowers in the bedroom, a bottle of wine, a little bowl of smarties, these items said " we value you " but now they are gone. So we are left with a down at heel room, yes it contains a four poster bed, some heavy antique furniture and a well equipped little kitchette, but the curtains are ill fitting, the walls need repainting and the bathroom is a disaster area. Wallpapering a bathroom may occasionally work, it doesn't here, it's peeling and horrible, the tiles are badly fitted, the taps are shabby, the wall lights don't both have bulbs and the shower is only hot intermittently. No face flannel, only a small bar of "catering" soap and a refillable bottle of body wash. A sign by the emergency bell suggests this is " Only to be used in an absolute emergency and between 7am and 11pm" I assume after 11pm the owners wish me to die quietly in a medical emergency. It's not all bad, it's just no longer good enough, the notices are all telling you what you mustn't do, where the owners clearly have no interest in their guests enjoyment of the accommodation, only reprimanding them, getting them in and out with as little work as possible. I doubt we will book again, I like hot water on tap day and night, I like cleanliness and freshness, I do like Qwerky but am not prepared to sacrifice the basics for it. We stayed in room 1 ground floor this time, we found room 5 on the upper floor better last time but assume it too now lacks the little extras and is probably in need of a tender loving care that is lacking in the whole place. Such a shame to see a place go downhill, it gives me no pleasure to give them a poor review but would not want others to be disappointed, if I hear they have undertaken a programme of refurbishment we may well return, as we love the position ( at the top of a very steep hill ) . By all means give them a try but be prepared for the conditions described here, so you won't be too disappointed.

Room Tip: Go on upper floor, less noisy ( you won't have guests above you ) 5-8 I think
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieTurner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harthill, Owner at Riber Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

This is NOT a review of Riber Hall Holiday cottage sleeping 18 guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews