We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

What a find! This Fantastic B & B proprietor could not do more for you,nothing too much trouble. Excellent breakfast, and house so clean. Will definitely be coming back. Should be so much more than 3*

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue_k_270BR, Owner at Barton House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Many thanks for your feedback Mrs Salmon. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and very pleased to meet you. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Stayed Easter weekend with some friends , fantastic breakfast , rooms very clean and it was a nice 10 minute walk into town for the pubs all in all fantastic the host Sue is lovely and makes you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue_k_270BR, Owner at Barton House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to host you and really pleased your enjoyed your stay with us.

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Barton House overnight on a working weekend. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating even getting up early on a Sunday morning to accommodate an early breakfast. The room was a really large double, that could easily have been a king size. The en suite bathroom was lovely with a selection of toiletries. Sky tv and a great wifi connection. The view from the bedroom window was across the Peak District. Breakfast was lovely with s large selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juices. Followed by a full cooked English breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank tutttifrutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

A nice friendly B&B. Breakfast was fine though after five days we did find the choice rather limited and the selection of cereals poor. Fresh fruit was spot on.
The room was clean, large and the bed outstandingly comfortable. Large bathroom, excellent shower and well filled with toiletries. Ventilation to the bedroom was not an option as the A6 road outside carried a huge amount of traffic day and night. For a light sleeper this room is a non starter. For us it did not matter as the weather was not hot. If we were to return to Matlock we would certainly want to stay with Sue but only if her rear bedroom was available.

Room Tip: Avoid the front room facing the A6 if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JERIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue_k_270BR, Owner at Barton House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Thanks for the feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We checked the double glazing and noticed that the upper window was not closed. That is our error so sorry for that. The A6 road is convenient for Matlock to Chatsworth and Bakewell and we are well set back from the road so traffic noise should not be an issue. We will monitor and check with other guests and thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

B&B offers all that's needed for a lovely stay. Double ensuite room spacious and very clean. Host Sue very friendly, welcoming and serves a wonderful breakfast!
Parking available. Within easy convenient reach of Bakewell and Chatsworth.
Would definitely recommend and will most certainly be returning in the future.
(Thanks Sue.... Sheila & John)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue_k_270BR, Manager at Barton House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Hi Shelia and John,

Thank you so much for the lovely comments. I hope you do come back and see us as I enjoyed your company. Hope you had a safe journey home.

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews