We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
The terrace amongst the trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The terrace amongst the trees
The road view Looking at Vallon from the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The terrace amongst the trees
The road view
Looking at Vallon from the terrace
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Sitting room
Sitting room
The view from the terrace
view from the terrace/bedroom
View from the bedroom
Bedroom 1
bathroom 1
Detail on throw bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
Thick walls on the staircase
Dining/conservatory
Well equipped Kitchen with great equipment
The kitchen
upstairs sitting/reading room
The village of Youlgrave
Outside in winter
Youlgrave - river Bradford in summer
Derbyshire Hills and edges
Youlgrave Allotments
Beautiful area of Peak District
Youlgrave in the snow
Youlgrave in the snow
Youlgrave in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tina B
Anstey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage!”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our 4th stay in this wonderful cottage. It is filled with amazing features that relax and make you feel so comfortable. There is everything you could need or want from the Sage toaster to the Tempra mattress and stunning bed linen.
The outside patio has beautiful views.
The location is perfect for beautiful walks from the door and the village amenities.
You really don't need to use your car. The pubs in the village are great with the closest being the legendary Farmyard Inn.
We have booked to go back again later in the year.
Thanks so much for being allowed to enjoy this wonderful place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Thank you so much Tinaa for such a glowing review. It's so lovely to know that you love Vallon, Youlgrave and the surrounding area of the Peak District as much as we do. Vallon is so well placed for an amazing selection of walks from the door and we are blessed with good pubs and a selection of good village shops too. Looking forward to welcoming you again and so happy you had such a wonderful time. Thanks for choosing Vallon :) Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samhine
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gem in the Peak District”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed at Vallon for 4 nights during the school holidays and it’s a great base for activities around the Peak District. Ali organised an extra mattress so that our 8 year olds didn’t have to share a bed. Very quiet lane and the view across the valley is incredibly peaceful. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and so pleased you had a great break during your school holiday. Good to hear the mattress idea worked too, 8 year olds sharing the same bed just doesnt work, I know my grandchildren will not sleep if they share, its more fun to kick each other and generally mess about rather than sleep :) Hope to welcome you again in the future. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stay66003...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Vallon cottage is situated on a quiet lane in the village of Youlgrave. There is parking outside. The bedrooms are upstairs, whilst the living room, kitchen, utility room and conservatory are downstairs, on a nice sunny day there is seating on a decking area with fantastic views over the hills. For birders there was a huge variety of birds that visited the decking or were flying close by. One bedroom is much larger than the other, we drew straws to see which couple would have which room! The beds are extremely comfortable. We were visiting the first RHS Chatsworth Show and Vallon Cottage was ideally situated for Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and there were lovely walks all around. The Farmyard Inn is 5 minutes walk from the cottage and does very good food, booking is essential.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
So happy to hear you slept well in those comfy beds, it's great to lie in bed in the morning and watch the clouds and the birds too isn't it?
The farmyard is such a bonus and so close to the cottage too, glad you enjoyed their food and ambiance... Hope to welcome you again and thanks so much for choosing Vallon for your base whilst you visited the RHS show at Chatsworth. Thank you for a great review. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tour56144...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming, comfortable cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wonderful walks directly from the cottage. Everything you need for a comfortable holiday. Photos don't do it justice - we enjoyed sunny breakfasts on the gorgeous deck. Bright, colourful and interesting interior, very homely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
So pleased you had such a lovely time Anna. Thank you for such a wonderful review. We love Vallon for all the same reasons and its so rewarding to be able to offer the house out for others to enjoy and to know that it's so appreciated. Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shubhes S
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tranquil Stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Vallon Cottage for 3 nights. We had never stayed in a cottage before and for us to come to Vallon to break our duck, so to say, we indeed had to be very lucky.

AND WHAT A CHARMING COTTAGE IT IS!

The decor, ambiance and quirky charm says more about the owner, Ali, as a person than a mere design inspiration; which, of course, we have brought back with us for our home.

The Farmyard Inn as recommended by Ali served excellent food. Visit to Chatsworth House was a treat. Bakewell trip was charming with plenty to shopped to eat. It rained most of the time but just driving around randomly was fun in itself.

The very scenic village, the well decked terrace, birds around the bird feeders, soon burning fireplace and the mini terrace garden added to the charm of Vallon.

It is a great little base to explore The Peak District. Had a wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage Itself, the decor by Ali
Liked least: The house cleaner (employees by Ali) needs to be more attentive!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
So so pleased to hear you had such a lovely time both in Vallon and in the surrounding area. We really appreciate you for sharing your experience and thoughts. Glad you enjoyed the Farmyard Pub too, its so wonderful to be able to walk 5 minutes downhill to eat good food and be in a lovely atmosphere. Thank you for choosing Vallon for your break and hope to welcome you another time. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing