We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing foraging day”

Hartingtons of Bakewell
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Thank you for a wonderful day. Chris and Rose from Taste of the Wild led us out along a country lane and the Monsal Trail and within yards we had found so many edible plants - hogweed buds, ground ivy, jack by the hedge, sweet cicely, vetch, ground elder and more! Thank you for adding a new dimension to my daily dog walks. The food cooked on our return was so tasty! The day was rounded off with an amazing cocktail!
A truly memorable day. I loved it.

Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdh39, Owner at Hartingtons of Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Hi Jane, thank you for your lovely review and we are so glad that you had a great day. I think both Chris and Rose's enthusiasm for foraging and the ingredients you can find in the natural environment is infectious. We love the course and hope you will be back in the future to try another one with one of our other expert tutors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cheese making"
in 6 reviews
"edible plants"
in 2 reviews
"experienced cook"
in 2 reviews
"pies"
in 2 reviews
"tutor"
in 17 reviews
"julie"
in 32 reviews
"cookery"
in 8 reviews
"skills"
in 11 reviews
"techniques"
in 8 reviews
"masterclass"
in 5 reviews
"school"
in 8 reviews
"foraging"
in 5 reviews
"cauliflower"
in 2 reviews
"structured"
in 4 reviews
"limes"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 4 reviews
"snow"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2018

Hartington's run a number of courses and use experts in each field as course tutors. Cheese making has always fascinated me and today despite the snow it was off from Lincolnshire to Bakewell for the course. Having got there the course was so relaxed,informative and a great opportunity to meet a great cross section of people. The results were good and my cheeses have arrived home safely
So enjoyable and a great day out

Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdh39, Owner at Hartingtons of Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for your review and we were so glad that you enjoyed the day. I hope your Camembert turn out well and thanks for making the effort despite the snow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The course is suitable for the accomplished cook who would like to master the knife skills required for fish cookery,use 'on trend' exciting ingredients including unusual herbs, acquire new techniques and gain the confidence to dress plates to fine dining standard . Stephanie Moon, a chef with an impressive cv, was an outstanding tutor whose enthusiasm and encouragement ensured everyone achieved good results. The attention to detail in the running of the course was impressive and it is clear this school are the real deal in terms of professionalism. The light lunch of scallops with textures of cauliflower was accompanied with a glass of prosecco -perfect .I am looking forward to my next visit

1  Thank gastroroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdh39, Owner at Hartingtons of Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

This is the first time we have worked with Stephanie Moon and we are glad it's not the last - we have another course scheduled in for next year. The words expert, passionate are much over used but in this case I can't think of any better for describing Steph's level of knowledge and ability to enthuse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

This was my third time on one of Charlotte Marrifield`s patisserie courses and it did not disappoint. The recipes and techniques covered were fresh and very different from previous courses. Charlotte really knows her stuff and was more than happy to share her expertise and knowledge . As always, the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed but purposeful and well structured. I am a reasonably experienced cook but learned new patisserie skills and picked up lots of useful tips throughout the day. We came away with plenty of delicious goodies that we had produced including Apple Nougatine Tart, Mini Key Lime and Ginger Pies and Champagne and Raspberry Trifles. As an added bonus all the basic food prep (squeezing limes, whipping cream etc.) was done by Charlotte and her helpers in advance which freed up more time to focus on learning. No washing up to do either! The venue is in a lovely location and well equipped. Julie and Chris are welcoming and very attentive hosts with a keen eye for detail. I`ve already booked for another course!

2  Thank EClairDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdh39, Owner at Hartingtons of Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thanks for your feedback and we agree that Charlotte brings a very fresh perspective to Patisserie but is also a master of the classic techniques. I'm glad the course didn't disappoint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Hartingtons have got the recipe for their tapas cookery course just right! Each dish was demonstrated by our chef for the day, Javier de la Hormaza, before we were let loose in the kitchen to re-create it ourselves. Javier is an excellent teacher, very informative about the dishes and ingredients we used, as well as being very passionate about his regional food. A fantastic insight into tapas and a fantastic supper to take home. Well done Julie and Chris of Hartingtons for a well organised day and Javier for an excellent day out.

3  Thank maryej45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdh39, Owner at Hartingtons of Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you Mary for taking the time to respond and we are so glad that you like our style of course which are designed to be fun but interactive. I agree that Javier like all our expert tutors has a passion for his subject and a depth of experience & knowledge that brings something extra to the whole experience. Hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hartingtons of Bakewell also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Hartingtons of Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing