We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house- everything we needed!”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ailsalsa
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house- everything we needed!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here as a group of guests at a wedding in Bakewell. It managed to fit all of us comfortably and had everything we could have asked for. The house is in great condition, with gorgeous bedrooms and bathrooms. The huge living room and lovely big kitchen means there is plenty of space for everyone to hang out and ejoy seeing each other as for many of us it had been a a long time since we'd seen each other! The house is 5 mins walk from Bakewell Registry office which was perfect for us! Plenty of space and great fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big living room and lovely kitchen.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFranksEn...
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic Cottage, great location - would definitely recommend!!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a fabulous cottage, 5 mins walk from the centre of Bakewell then look no further, this 5 bedroomed, 2 bathroom quirky cottage was an excellent find. Fitted with all modern cons, we could not fault the property nor the facilities. Home from home accommodate, the owner Maggie was exceptional and looked after us right from booking our trip to leaving.....would definitely recommend to anyone!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout, which enabled a group to have their own time as well as being part of a group
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaCrab1...
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house, clean, spacious and perfect for a reunion!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

14 of us stayed here for a long weekend and had a great time. The lounge is big and comfortable and all 14 of us just managed to squash round the kitchen table. The house was well equipped and warm. The courtyard was only big enough for 3 cars which was fine for us. It's ideally situated in Bakewell and for walks from there. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds! Spacious lounge and location.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan E
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely little find”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had a fantastic weekend at this lovely house. Spotlessly clean throughout, well equipped kitchen and other amenities (wifi in particular). Very spacious so we could all go off and do our own thing and then come together in the large kitchen or sitting room. The decor throughout was lovely,all of the rooms were comfortable and there were plenty of clean towels. Bakewell and surrounding areas are beautiful - lovely walks and pubs and lots of really interesting shops.
This is one to be highly recommended and we will definately be booking it again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hulk-0927
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, but needs a good clean!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We hired this cottage out for a friends 30th birthday and we were over the moon when we arrived. It is spacious, warm, with lots of character. We were able to park four cars on the drive which was a bonus too. The kitchen was large and became the social hub throughout the weekend. The rooms were well appointed. The only downside was the cleanliness. Whilst cooking on the hob, we noticed grease dripping from the cooker hood which I ended up having to clean. The decor seems generally tired, but that aside, it was a really nice place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2013
I am delighted that you had a good time but extremely perturbed about your comment about the cleanliness. I am so sorry, I know our cleaner will be as horrified as I am by this. We take great pride in the state of the place and decorate on a regular basis as well as the obvious clean after each visit. The cooker hood will be given an overhaul! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing