We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
13
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews micro pigs self catering basis underfloor heating the barn night break ducks sarah isolated matlock lodge walks facilities accommodation bed
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Stayed here for two nights with a group of friends and had a great time. Its quite isolated but that's part of the attraction and the barn conversation has been done to a very high standard. Everything you need is there and the under floor heating works a treat. It snowed quite a bit whilst we were there which added to the charm and made the rolling Dales even more beautiful. Matlock isn't too far away for some night restaurants and we walked into Youlgrave to a nice pub on the snowy day which was about a 1 hour walk. I can see why Dale End House recently won Channel 4's Four In a bed and its a beautiful place, credit to its owners....

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scottNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Visited recently on a 1 night break. Stayed in the Lodge which accommodated myself the wife & the family dog. It was on a self catering basis. Dale End House is quite isolated but that is part of the charm. Took us a while to find it after driving through Matlock. Met up with Paul & Sarah after talking to them when making the booking a few weeks ago.

The facilities were very good in the Lodge, everything you would need when self catering. The bed was large & bedding pristine. Power shower was brilliant. Good toiletries. The dog enjoyed the under floor heating. Very spacious throughout.

The farmyard is interesting with chickens & geese dodging about & a couple of micro pigs in their pen. Didn't get to see the peacock though.

Got out walking in the surrounding countryside with the weather being ideal, made it to Middleton & on to Youlgreave to do the riverside walk back to Middleton.

Room Tip: It is farm cottage set up not a hotel but the rooms are good
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickeyboyDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

I recently visited Dale End House for 3 nights as part of a family get together and we booked both the Barn and the Lodge on a bed and breakfast basis. At the end of the holiday the whole family agreed that it was a gem of a place in a perfect location and a tremendous find. How lucky we were and nothing was too much trouble for Sarah and Paul, the owners. I have already recommended it to other friends and hope to return again before too long.
All the rooms are stylishly decorated and the bedrooms are large with en suite bathrooms. The kitchen is spacious and extremely well equipped. The layout of the open plan kitchen, large lounge and dining area made for easy socialising before and after meals and was a pleasant place for relaxing on a rainy morning.The breakfasts , prepared by Sarah and Paul, were delicious and made for a happy and convivial start to each day.
The environment is beautiful. The barn and lodge are part of lovely complex of stone farm buildings,fields and gardens with running ducks, hens, peacocks and even two small pigs. Beyond the immediate surroundings there is the beautiful countryside of the White Peak with a huge choice of walks or bike rides in the pretty dales and some very interesting villages, towns and stately homes to visit too. We had a fantastic walk along Bradford dale, Lathkill dale and into the village of Youlgreave.
It was really a perfect place to stay and I think it would be excellent for families of all ages, groups of friends, walkers or people just wanting to relax in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gbee2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We were a party of 9 cousins with partners and the accommodation was ideal for us. The barn and lodge meant that we could all be together in a self-catering place with the advantage of a communal living room and large kitchen. We also opted to have the bed and breakfast arrangement which meant we were served with a full English breakfast cooked by owners Sarah and Paul every morning. All the bedrooms have en suite facilities so that you could easily stay even if you are just one couple.

The bedrooms were very comfortable and pleasant with everything provided that you need. The property is beautifully renovated and retains all the charm of a traditional farmhouse with chickens, ducks, two pigs and a peacock in the yard. If you are not keen on animals don't let that put you off. You can keep them at arm's length and everything is kept very clean. We loved having the animals, however, and the property would be ideal for families with children.

Outside there is a nice outdoor sitting area and there is even a gas-fired barbeque although we didn't use it.

The property is set in beautiful countryside, down tiny quiet lanes with plenty of opportunity for delightful walks nearby. There are good pubs and restaurants within an easy drive (2 or 3 miles).

Sarah and Paul are very friendly and welcoming and we had a great stay. I thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay in the Derbyshire Dales.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Dale end is a beautifully appointed and stylish B&B with a lovely kitchen and in a beautiful part of the country. Sarah and Paul were very friendly and helpful and cooked us a lovely breakfast. Lot's of walks and countryside in close proximity and plenty of mountain biking trails if that's your thing. All in all highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews