We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
248
130
51
34
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
130
51
34
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse mirabeau suite garden suite self catering on arrival car park docking station kitchen area mini kitchen beautiful building double bath communal lounge peak district small kitchenette low ceilings steep hill walk into town
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Excellent accommodation,good service and great location very near the town centre.can strongly recommend it for location and quality.Friendly reception and help on arrival and departure.Stayed in Vernon suite which was very handy for the dog who was most welcome.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you Roy for your review of Bagshaw Hall and we are pleased you and your dog enjoyed your stay in the Vernon Suite, which is ideal having a full kitchen with a porcelain tiled floor for the dog's bed and bowls. The short walk into the town and the numerous walks by the river are perfect for a relaxing walking holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

What a wonderful stay we had in the Vernon suite in Bagshaw Hall. The room was very spacious and perfect for the 2 of us and our little doggy. The room is open plan and has a full kitchen and lounge area which was just perfect for us. The bathroom is fabulous and has the added bonus of a jacuzzi bath which was well needed after our long walks around the Peak District. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and they made us feel very welcome. Bagshaw Hall is very beautiful and unique and it was a pleasure to stay there. We cannot wait to return.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi Sara, Many thanks for your review of Bagshaw Hall & we are really glad you (and your doggy!) enjoyed your stay.

The beauty of the hall is emphasised at this time of year, with the warm stonework and impressive frontage in a prominent position overlooking the town. We have warm sodium lights in the front garden lighting up the whole of the frontage at night, which is a real feature.

The Vernon suite is perfect for your doggy, having a porcelain tiled floor in the kitchen area with plenty of room for the dog's basket, bowls, etc.

There are very few places in Bakewell which are doggy friendly and we welcome our guests with dogs to some of our suites in Bagshaw Hall and all of the suites in the Sleep Lodge next to the hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Just returned home from a lovely short break at Bagshaw Hall. We were greeted on arrival by the friendly staff who made us feel very welcome throughout our stay and provided us with useful local information. Bagshaw Hall is a wonderful historic listed building and we enjoyed spending some time just sitting in the lounge area soaking up the history. We did not make much use of the self catering facilities, handy though they are, and dined out in the local pubs but we had decided in advance to treat ourselves to cooked breakfasts on both morning of our visit. We were not dissappointed, The lavish breakfasts were served to us in our room and they really set us up for the whole day.
Bakewell is perfectly located to explore the Peak District and we will definately return to Bagshaw Hall to continue our expeditions at a later date.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Echobeachfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you felt welcome at Bagshaw Hall and were well looked after by our friendly staff.
We pride ourselves on our cooked breakfast using local produce including fresh farm eggs which have amazing yolks and we think the smoked bacon adds to the overall flavour.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Inspired by Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice I decided to visit Derbyshire’s beautiful Peak District. We based ourselves in Bakewell and stayed in Bagshaw Hall. It was perfect. Bagshaw Hall itself is a beautiful historic building with considerable ambience. The staff are friendly. They are deliberately not “in your face”, but are there if you need them. The Hall is within easy walking distance of pubs and restaurants in the lovely town of Bakewell, which is an ideal base for exploring the Peak District National Park. I would highly recommend Bagshaw Hall to anyone wishing to visit this beautiful part of the country.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thanks for your review of Bagshaw Hall. It was great to meet you and your friends, and we are pleased you enjoyed exploring the Peak District and staying in Bagshaw Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Our room at Bagshaw Hall was a spacious open plan lounge, dining, sleeping and kitchen area with a separate ensuite, which unfortunately only had a bath and no shower. The kitchen had some items missing, but as we were eating out (except at breakfast times) and not catering for ourselves this did not matter. Also, being open plan accommodation, any cooking smells will travel to all the other areas. There was an adjoining room to ours from which you could hear noises, including when the guests set the smoke alarm off!!!

The large historic building was warm despite our stay being in being in winter and the communal lounge was nicely decorated for Christmas. Dogs are allowed in some rooms at an extra cost, normally £20 per dog. Parking is very tight during busy times and if any guests bring more than one car then this becomes an issue. Parking in the road outside is for permit holders only during the day time from 8am.

The hall is located a short walk from the town, but it is on a steep hill so going there is much easier than coming back! Bakewell is a nice town with some nice pubs, restaurants and several independent shops. Most pubs are dog friendly, but a couple do not allow them in any area with carpets. There are some nice walks nearby, including along the River Wye that runs through the town and the Monsal Trail, which was a former Midland Railway line.

Staying at Bagshaw Hall is not cheap so watch out for the offers. You even have to pay extra for a cooked breakfast (£10) or continental breakfast (£8) and what is provided is poor value. For example the cooked breakfast does not include a cereal to start with, which even the most basic cheap B & B provides and the continental breakfast you can buy all the items yourself from one of the two local supermarkets for a few £’s and you have to use your own kitchen crockery and utensils anyway, even if the hotel provides the products for you!

Our room only had the option to have breakfast brought to us at a set time and this arrived late on the first morning, due to a stated electrical problem in the kitchen. On the second morning we had also booked and paid for a cooked breakfast, but I found out the morning before, and only by chance, that the kitchen was not going to be open on New Years day, so they could only supply a continental breakfast, which they insisted is what I had booked, until I forwarded them an email proving otherwise. They told me to let them know if I wanted a continental breakfast delivering to our room in the afternoon the day before. I didn’t, but they still did so whilst we were out, so we ate this as something was better than nothing!

I complained about the breakfast issues and only then was I offered a refund for the difference in price of £4 in total. I didn't accept this because what we received was a poor and disappointing substitute for a cooked breakfast, which we hadn’t agreed to anyway. The hotel probably didn’t want to pay a premium or couldn’t get the staff to work on New Years morning, but if this was the case why did they accept and confirm our booking or at least notify us of the change? To try to smoke screen my complaint the hotel in their response stated that they would waive the extra £20 we should have been charged for bringing a second dog, when in fact I had clearly made it known in writing that we were bringing two small dogs, who sleep in a cage when we stay away from home, and I paid the agreed amount and this was confirmed by email.

You might think I have made such a big deal over the breakfast issues, but we paid a lot of money to stay at Bagshaw Hall and wanted it to be special for our New Year celebrations at the end of a difficult and troubled year for my family and I. In the end this spoiled what was otherwise an enjoyable stay and hence this is one of the reasons I have only given a 3* rating. The other reasons are the very tight parking, no shower in the ensuite and poor value for money based on normal prices.

Notes to the previous response from the Management. 1) I did not spend over half an hour on the phone discussing our requirements (the log on my phone shows 10 minutes), 2) My Wife and I did not try to sneak an extra dog into our room (both dogs were seen by the member of staff who guided us into the tight parking space when we arrived and I booked and it was agreed for us to stay with two small dogs for the £20 price we paid),3) Despite giving the Management our bank details as requested, 9 months later we have not received a refund for the poor continental breakfast that was given as a substitute to the cooked one that we paid for and was confirmed in writing, 4) Beware of any irrelevant and misinformation that is normally given as a response by Management to create a smoke screen.

Not recommended for reasons given and poor attitude of Management to Customer Service, including not telling the truth and breaking promises.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank caroline0199sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

This review is a repeat from 9 months ago and for us to respond again is pointless!

Should anyone bother reading through this review they will find it boring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews