We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Lodge, beautifully maintained.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Warminster, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Mike T
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Lodge, beautifully maintained.”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful stay in this superb lodge. Peace and tranquility with with lovely views across the valley. Plenty to do roundabout with lots of local walks and places to visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbs
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family retreat”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful week at Crockerton Lodge, Jan and Andrew were extremely friendly and even left some milk and wine in the fridge for our arrival! The lodge is stunning, beautifully laid out and very well equipped. The location is very tranquil, we had a family of cows greet us on our first evening. Shearwater Lake is just a short walk and is a lovely place to visit.

Longleat was also fantastic and just a 10 minute drive. Would also highly recommend visiting Bath. Beautiful city!

Had such a lovely break, our kids loved it as well. Have already recommended to most of my friends and hopefully we will come back again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyAier...
South Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning place to relax.”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We only had 5 nights at the lodge and brought our 2.5 year old daughter with us as we wanted to take her to Longleat, which was amazing safari park to visit. The lodge is child friendly, open planned and homely, it was nice to go away and not have to worry too much. we went to a couple of local pubs, The Bell Inn and the George for tea which was lovely. We visited Frome and we took the park and ride into Salisbury which was a good idea as didn't have to worry about parking or how long we were there. Just up the road for the lodge there is sheer water lake we had a lovely long walk around it, they do have a cafe there but wasn't open on the Monday. Took our daughter to a few play parks as she loves the slide and claiming frames. Just want to say thank you for a lovely stay and hope to see you again one day.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familyhol...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious lodge, perfectly placed for Longleat and Wiltshire/Somerset”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for a week in June with a 3-year-old and eight-week-old baby. Jan and Andy are delightful hosts, who live next door and were unfailingly polite and thoughtful.
The lodge suited us perfectly: a quiet location but not cut-off: there's a village and gourmet pub round the corner, and Warminster's supermarkets were a few minutes drive away. We were also within walking distance of Shearwater Lake.
The single-storey building is convenient and I'd imagine the lodge rates well for accessibility - just bear in mind the driveway is made of loose stones, but inside is handily open-plan.
A particular highlight was dinnertime with the neighbouring cows, who graze on a few nearby fields and usually came right up to the side of the lodge in the early evening - our toddler was delighted!
The lodge has a large bathroom with a separate bath and (electric) shower cubicle, all very easy to operate. There's comfortably enough hot water for a bath a day. The kitchen is well equipped and the fridge has a small icebox. We stayed during a warm spell, but were able to keep the place cool by opening the windows and skylights. Wifi, TV etc all worked fine.
This rental is ideal if you're holidaying with Longleat in mind: I couldn't find anywhere nearer for less than twice the price of Crockerton Lodge, and we were only a few minutes' drive away. I'd probably return if we wanted another 'Longleat holiday'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property location and condition were both fantastic
Liked least: Nothing really. All that could have improved the stay would be blackout blinds: the same windows that are such a boon for light and air in the day inevitably mean the main bedroom is very light at 5am in midsummer. But this applies to most rentals.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison O
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay near Longleat”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights with our daughter and granddaughter aged 9. We were warmly greeted by the owners and found a welcome bottle of wine and milk in the fridge.
The accommodation is first class with everything you need for self catering.
Very convenient for Longleat but other places are within easy reach such as Salisbury, Stonehenge and Stourhead.
We would definitely recommend the lodge to family and friends wishing to stay in the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing