We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (998)
Filter reviews
998 results
Traveller rating
949
43
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
949
43
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjj marieguest kitchenj jgreat hostsb and bbreakfast menuport stewartnorthern irelandgreat breakfastlots of choiceopen firelocal restaurantsexcellent stayfrench toastbed and breakfasthis wifesitting room
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 998 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Cul-Erg, You know it's good when you just book year on year!

The rooms are spotlessly clean, quiet and warm & we always look forward to the 5* breakfast in the morning. From the moment you arrive you feel like a part of the family, JJ is a great host and Marie sure knows how to make a good Irish breakfast! You can tell when people put their heart & soul in their business and these two deserve every success.

The location is great, situated just off Portstewart promenade where you can find a few shops, cafes and a nice walk around the convent. Portrush is around 10 minutes away by car.

We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when we go to the North Coast to be honest. If you book to stay here you won't be disappointed, the Cul-Erg is better than some hotels I've stayed in

See you again next year!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EmmaR3199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Emma Thank-you for your kind comments.. We are always delighted when guests recommend us and also enjoy coming back themselves for return visits.. It is very rewarding and much appreciated by us both.. We look forward to your return visit.. Thank-you JJ & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to stay for a night at this beautiful B&B on our travels around Ireland.

We stayed in a mix of hotels and B&B’s on our 2 week trip and felt that we had to write a review on Cul Eng.

JJ and Marie were just great hosts and provided a filling breakfast and lovely room with the best shower in all of Ireland.

Highly recommend if you are planning a night in Portstewart!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank-you Joe for your compliments.. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and Thank-you for recommending us. JJ & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

My sister and I came for a wedding and had a perfect stay. The room was good and breakfast ace- especially the homemade pancakes. Would recommend. The location is wonderful, right by the prom and walks by the shore. Quiet place, friendly and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aquaailsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank-you for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments.. JJ & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We are just literally home from another fantastic weekend, we want to sell our house and move in (LOL) it's just that homely with JJ and Marie, they are just so warm and welcoming when you arrive and you just feel part of their family!!! Our family just love going, the rooms are so luxurious and you feel special when you're there. The breakfasts are just out of this world, I always tell my friends to go there , wouldn't think of going anywhere else to be honest. Roll on till we get back!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank JcandDoakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank-you so much for this wonderful review. We are always delighted when guests return to stay with us and particularly pleased when they recommend us to family and friends.. Your kind words are very much appreciated by us both. Thank-you JJ & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Myself and three girlfriends from the US stayed here on Wednesday 28th February. We were supposed to be a party of 9 but it was right when the "beast from the east" hit the UK and due to airport troubles the rest of our group never made it to Portstewart. Arriving in a blizzard we could not have been made more welcome. This is a superbly comfortable B+B run by the nicest people on earth - JJ and Marie. They were so understanding about our plight and so flexible about our changing plans when the rest of our party never made it and we had to abandon our plans to go north and instead turn back to Belfast. JJ even ran us back and forth to the restaurant for dinner (the weather was appalling). The rooms were very comfortable with everything you could wish for and the breakfast was to die for. We could have stayed there forever! Cannot recommend highly enough! We have all been left with the most wonderful impression of Northern Irish people - oh and btw Portstewart itself and the surrounding coastline are incredibly beautiful - even when the weather is super wild!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank celtickl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank-you so much for this amazing review.. We do our very best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and to be appreciated in this way is extremely rewarding.. I just hope that you have more luck with the weather if you get the opportunity to return..Thank-you for taking the time to review us. JJ & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews