We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Ever Camp sites we have stayed at!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilkeel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandilands Caravan Park
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kilkeel
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Lovely Clean, tidy, quiet, friendly, relaxed camp site. Best we have ever stayed at. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, so so clean no rubbish lying around, toilets/showers excellent condition. Laundry room & washing up facilities excellent. Best kept camp site,obviously alot of time is spent cleaning and mowing grass. We would highly recommend this site to our friends and relatives. Thank you Alan & Barbara.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

Well back to Sandilands for our 6 camping trip this year.....
We just love it.
Last year was our first year camping,so we are better organised now.
There are new managers on the site,and it has to be said,they are so warm and friendly,and would go that extra mile to help make your stay more memorable.

Waycott 28
The site remains spotlessly clean,the shower /toilet block is always spotless and a new feature this year,and greatly appreciated is the use of a toilet,right behind the tent pitches...It saves the wee stroll last thing at nite with the kids.
Would highly recommend this site to anyone,always sure of a warm welcome and a smile.....
It's just like our wee holiday home...

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Waycott28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We first visited this site last year (July '09) it being our first experience camping in a tent. We loved it so much we came back this year twice!! In July and August. The location is excellent as you drive down the drive you feel chilled out and safe as the campside is secured by gates that are closed at 11:30pm. The Staff Alan and Barbara are so friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. Kilkeel is only approx 3 miles up the road and there is an Asda store for all the supplies you'll ever need. On site there is a shop, great showers and this year a toilet convenient to the tents, handy for those late night/early morning visits. The kids enjoyed the park and walks along the beach. I would throughly recommend this site for a relaxed easy going holiday and can't wait to come again!!!.

Camping Buddies!! Co Antrim

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leviCoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I booked to stay here before i read any tripadvisor reviews and it just goes to show that you can't believe all you read on here.
After booking i had a look at the reviews and the general impression was'nt very good. There was complaints about the attitude of the staff and the cleanliness of the sites facilities.
Now i'm not paticularly thick skinned nor overly fussy when it comes to the cleanliness of communally used shower facilities but i found the staffs attitudes to be nothing but helpful and positive and the toilets etc were spot on,always clean and tidy.
The lady who ran the place was sound and her husband was a gent.
The rates were reasonable,even in the on site shop and the showers were hot and powerful.
What more do you want from a caravan site? It has a beautiful coast location and has loads of natural beauty all around it.
If you expected any more from one of these type of sites then maybe you should reconsider the type of holiday you're after.
All said,Sandilands is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irishtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

If you are looking for a clean and friendly family camp site, right on the edge of a beach, this is a great place to go.

We were slightly put off by a couple of unfavourable internet reviews, but after asking for a tour of the facility before paying, we were pleasantly surprised at the helpful and open attitude of the staff, and also the well-kept caravan/camp site and the spotlessly clean toilet facilities. The helpful attitude even extended to a kettle of hot water for a cup of tea - forgot our gas burner. Apparently the site has been under new management since March 2010.

We were three families with small children and we appreciated the conscious efforts by the management to protect the family environment on the site. btw, reasonable prices in the site shop - at least for water pistols!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormanPaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkeel
19.9 km away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
15.0 km away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
327 reviews
8.8 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
75 reviews
4.0 km away
Kilmorey Arms Hotel
Kilmorey Arms Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kilkeel
115 reviews
22.8 km away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandilands Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandilands Caravan Park

Address: 30 Cranfield Road, Kilkeel BT34 4LJ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Kilkeel
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kilkeel
Number of rooms: 170
Also Known As:
Sandilands Caravan Park Hotel Kilkeel
Sandilands Caravan Park Kilkeel, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing