We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strangford Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newtownards
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Headed down to our favourite for an early dinner today as we had been given vouchers by Darren last week, buy one main and get one free deal at the minute until the 5th March. Excellent deal for a Monday from 12 to 6 food was Excellent as usual, as were the staff especially Darren again! Never lets us down with his manner and craic. dinner came out in No time and was piping hot. Always a gr8 atmosphere and very welcoming even for a quiet early Monday evening. Can't say enough about the place and luv going there as always made so welcome. Thanx again for a gr8 experience as usual

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

6 - 10 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

From the pleasant receptionist who greeted us on arrival to the waitress at dinner and the breakfast staff our experience in the hotel was fantastic even the housekeeping staff had a smile.

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise-you don’t expect much when its complementary but a full cooked and you can help your self to juices,Yogurt,toast, cereals
Well done Strangford arms!!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank patrica101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Have been going to this hotel for about four years love the food and value for money rooms! Only downside is £150 pre auth on debit card not available in account again for ten days this is pretty steep and staff member in reception did not explain correctly!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jodowds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
092GM, Manager at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay in the hotel.
I am sorry to hear that your bank has not released your Pre Auth back into your account. On arrival we Pre Auth all cards for payment, on Departure we complete this Pre Auth using the authorisation code given to us on check in, so the bank system is aware this is only one transaction. Your bank should automatically reconcile your Pre Auth and Completion.
I regret your bank have not done this and I would advise you to contact them to get this rectified.
Again thank you for using the Strangford Arms Hotel and we wish you an amazing 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

The worst hotel I’ve ever stayed In. Understaffed bar left people waiting for 30 to 40 minutes to order a drink.

If that wasn’t bad enough when we went to the room to try and forget our so far awful experience, the bathroom was disgusting and the noise from the roof top air conditioning system or refrigeration system kept us awake all night.

I tried to raise these issues with staff and was told to grow up.

Save your money and sleep
on the street.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank GB V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Had lunch in the restaurant/lounge with a friend. I found this to be very relaxing and friendly. Food was lovely, staff helpful and very pleasant. The manager Darren was politely attentive and enquired a couple of times that we were happy and if we needed anything more. Would definitely recommend and will return

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank gena_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtownards
8.1 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
583 reviews
4.6 km away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
26 km away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
7.2 km away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,090 reviews
19.3 km away
Beechlawn House Hotel
Beechlawn House Hotel
#40 of 48 in Belfast
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strangford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strangford Arms Hotel

Address: 92 Church Street, Newtownards BT23 4AL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newtownards
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newtownards
Price Range: €65 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strangford Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strangford Arms Hotel is ideally located in the lively town of Newtownards,15 minutes drive from Belfast city centre, 10 minutes from George Best Belfast City Airport and Bangor town centre. This Victorian listed building has been extensively refurbished to the highest standards and now incorporates 39 luxurious En-suite Bedrooms, Conference & Banqueting Suites and the award winning LeWinters Bistro, Bars & Restaurant. Wireless Internet access WiFi is provided complimentary for all residents and delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Strangford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strangford Arms Newtownards
Strangford Arms Hotel Newtownards, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing