We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
99
96
37
29
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
96
37
29
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saturday night small tv pleasant receptionist small hotel curry brisket piping hot room was clean and comfortable scampi hotel bar very pleasant stay great night lovely meal stayed here for one night near future tomato bread well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a few days here with my wife, at the end of September. Newtownards, though not especially interesting in itself, is beautifully located for exploring Belfast and Co. Down. Reception staff friendly, breakfast staff definitely not! However,the hotel is comfortable, breakfast was good, and we enjoyed our stay. And everybody in the town was so friendly! Would be quite happy to return. In fact, would be pleased to retire permanently to Newtownards one day!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank philipscargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed with a sports club - and all the parents. The hotel was fine - the rooms were fine - the bar food was good - excellent scampi - but had a bad experience with one of the staff called Stuart who was downright rude for the whole four days! Have travelled a lot but never witnessed anything like the way he treated both kids and parents. Will never go back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jayneleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

So for this trip home, we decided to stay at this hotel for a few days, after a long transatlantic flight we wanted time to unwind and get some sleep and beat the jet lag before meeting the family.

Upon arrival, we had what I can only describe as the best steak burger I have ever had, fully recommend that and the potato wedges.

Next morning we woke early and had the cooked breakfast ( hard to beat !!) and after an hour or 2, went back to the room for some needed sleep.

House keeping are obviously not aware of the concept of a door stop. All hotel room doors seem to be spring loaded and house keeping kept opening the other rooms doors and the spring was slamming shut, in and out of the same room over and over again. Do not disturb sign was on our door for a reason yet we believe someone attempted to come in.
Nice hotel, excellent food but not a place to stay unless you are an early riser.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveAtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Family got together so we stayed on Saturday night.
Setting arrangements are not good they have these high tables and chairs very hard to get on and of them.
In the evening they had music, the staff and bouncers walked around making you feel very uncomfortable, it wasn't as if they were wondering if you needed a drink but if you were behaving yourself.
The staff were not very friendly they had no personality what so ever.
Came from America to visit I was very disappointed, will not be back to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We spent the last few days of our honeymoon here and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was overall. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was great. We had a very pleasant evening with friends for a late supper and wine. Our room was clean and modern with a full ensuite and included a delicious full Ulster Fry for breakfast in the dining room. It is a very short walk across the parking lot to the great selection of stores at Newtownards shopping mall. Make time to walk to the town square to explore the shops downtown and take the bus to Belfast and other great places in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BCcanadaHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews