We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B. We'll be back.”
Review of Anvershiel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anvershiel House
Ranked #8 of 28 Portrush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb B&B. We'll be back.”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have just returned from an excellent trip to Portrush for a wedding and were delighted with the comfort and welcome from the Victor and Erna at the Anvershiel A fantastic B&B which I couldn't recommend highly enough.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paulysalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    18
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
77
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-upon-tyne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I stayed at Anvershiel House for one night, while on a motorcycle tour of Ireland with some friends. The place was easy to find (right off the main road), and Portrush is a great place to stay if exploring the Antrim Coast. The hostess, Erna, was very hospitable and provided us with a good introduction to what the town had to offer.

I shared a twin room with a friend; it was a decent size, and quiet (the house is set back by its car-park from the busy road). A nice walk into town along the Promenade (pity it was raining, but hey, it's Ireland!) and we found a nice restaurant very easily. An excellent breakfast set us up for the next day; certainly above average for a B&B in this price range.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhysPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A rather old B&B. Good walking distance from the town. Rooms did not have hair dryer unless asked for.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Juanita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VEANorthernIreland, Owner at Anvershiel House, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
It never fails to amaze me that people seek inexpensive B&Bs and then expect the trimmings of a 5 Star Hotel. Our website and the Information Folder in all rooms clearly states that hair dryers are available on request. This person states the accommodation was 'Not Expensive' but then goes on to Rate it as quite expensive!!! The house was built in 1937 but over the years has been modernised and where possible the old character of the property has remained. The house is maintained to a very high standard, there are photographs of the house and rooms on our website, so really they knew what to expect. In fact these folk stayed a little over 12 hours in the house - 8 hours of that was sleeping, so, I suppose they would know a lot about the history of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

A warm greeting awaited us & the time was taken to sit down with us & explain all about the local restaurants & venues.
Accomodation was exceptionally homely, with a large comfortable room.
Less than a 3 minute walk to the promenade leading to the harbour & town centre.
Breakfast was more tha ample, with a wide choice of quality options.
Would certainly recommend & stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Just back from the Anvershiel and can't wait to return. Victor and Erna are just perfect hosts who made us feel extremely welcome in Portrush. They made our daughter feel as if she was one of their own. The breakfast was magnificent and plentiful. On returning 'home' after a long day in the North coast Erna & Victor joined us for a night cap and captivated us with their funny anecdotes, local knowledge and generosity. I think I have met a new mum in Erna . If you want to a taste of Ulster hospitality.. go to the Anvershiel, we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavyL2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portrush hotels
1.5 km away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.1 km away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.1 km away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.1 km away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.8 km away
Antrim House
Antrim House
#6 of 28 in Portrush
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anvershiel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvershiel House

Property: Anvershiel House
Address: 16 Coleraine Road, Portrush BT56 8EA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Anvershiel House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Anvershiel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anvershiel House Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing